Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Portugal - Algarve
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Dual Rotary Encoder

    Hi
    Can someone tell me where I can get:
    - Dual Rotary Encoders
    - IOCard Encoders II

    I use a Master IOCard from Opencockpits. It is a beauty but can not deal directly with my ALPS dual rotary encoders.
    The solution is to get new dual rotary encoders or to get the IOCard Encoders II as someone says it will work with the ALPS dual rotary encoder.

    Many thanks for any help.
    Luis Henriques

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member weyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    54
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You could also try to build the dual rotary encoder by reaing at this opencockpits page.

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Luis

    Mouser.com in the US have an encoder without a shaft that can easily be converted into a dual concentric type. They are also compatable with the Opencockpits mastercards. They cost about $10.50 each and the reference is Mouser part no 652-ESD0D-S00-GC0006.

    Regards

    David

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You can do that same way with encoders.
    Better then rotary switch.





    Sorry about bad photos, I'v made it 4 years ago.

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi.
    They are pretty simple to make, even without specialist tools.

    The ones I made here Link cost 3 each.

    Paul.
    Last edited by colaboy; 01-26-2009 at 05:43 PM. Reason: Error

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi

    Here is another one from Mouser - even with integrated switch:

    Mouser partnumber: 690-701-04-16 - Cost: 3,5

    Shaft is plastic and easy to modify for dual encoder.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Portugal - Algarve
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up

    Hi all

    Many thanks for your fast and usefull help.
    That really will help me to decide what to do.
    I will have a look at the Mouse encoders, as they are ready made.
    If I don't like them I will get 2 Gray encoders and build myself as seen on the Opencockpits article.

    Many thanks to all of you.
    The best part of this hobby is the will that everybody show to help other builders.
    I will post my progress and share it with this lovelly comunity.

    Luis Henriques

Similar Threads

  1. Dual Rotary Encoder in SIOC
    By 737dragon in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-13-2010, 06:01 AM
  2. I can't remember where I saw a dual rotary encoder
    By Doon1 in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-15-2010, 08:35 PM
  3. Dual encoder rotary pins
    By Fliegerbenny in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-16-2009, 01:28 PM
  4. Turning a Rotary encoder with a pushbutton into a dual rotary encoder
    By snizbatch in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 03:57 AM
  5. 3 Dual Rotary Encoder
    By colaboy in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-13-2009, 06:52 PM

Tags for this Thread