Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    TH2GO vs Large 27" Flat Screen

    Hi,

    I think I may have asked this question before in a different way. I don't have the room for a projector so thinking of either a TH2GO or large monitor. The main effect I want to get is a bigger outside view/picture not so much more detail but something like a single projector image, just not as big though - ie larger runway etc. Which do you think will be the best option?

    Thanks

    Rob

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    When you say you don't have enough room for a projector, do you mean for a conventional projector or for a short throw as well?

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The area I'm using in my apartment isn't set up for a projector short throw or not. There's too much light and I don't have the room to use a projector - very tight all around!!

    Rob

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    How about adding regular monitor with a fresnel lens as an option?

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What about a 27" monitor with a fresnel lens? Would that make it even larger??

    Rob

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm not sure but I think it wouldn't be possible or at least not enough of an improvement to warrant the cons of using one. Usually a 19" or 21" is recommended.

  7. #7
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have a 22" monitor at the moment, and looking at im thinking that a 27" isnt going to be that much bigger, what i would do is get a DUAL HEAD 2 GO and run or 2x22" monitors to get a nice 44" width with a decent height. That would look impressive, if you dont have that sort of width try using 2 x 19" to give you 38" width or 2x17" to give 34" width and so on (working downwards).

    You could even get 2x15" monitors which will still give you a nice 30" but you wouldnt get a decent height on the 15" - 17" monitors!

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member JSpahn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    A bit of FYI

    Just some food for thought...I used a dual head 2 go and it was nice...what became annoying is during an approach the airport would disappear in the middle of the two monitors. If I am not mistaken you can adjust the viewpoint to compensate for this, personally I didnt have much success with it.

    The dual head was nice but it did put a strain on my system and frame rates did suffer. Personally I would save the $300 for the dual head box and look into a 32"-37" LCD TV at 1080p. Or make the investment with a Triple Head

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member Mr. Midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    129
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    drivers

    hate to cut in on you folks but i have a question , does triplhead to go have drivers for windows 7 64.

    just wanting to know if anyone has had any luck in doing so.

    my screens are acting weird.

    my resolution in the game is 3820/720 and the game still seems to be streched and at time it will be smaller than the three screen.

    as i said did not mean to but in but while you were talking thriplehead to go.

    thanks.Robert

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Fallon, NV
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I suggest TH2G

    I looked into a projector last year, but after reading the pros and cons (initial cost, as well as replacement bulb costs), it was much more effecient to bite the bullet once and get some monitors and TH2G. I found three 22 in' monitors on Ebay for about 750, and used my old 17'in as an overhead for my current setup. Works great. I use one monitor for my MIP (or FSpanel expaned) have two setup to run together for the outside view, and as I said, 17' on the overhead. The best reason for this logic is that I can still run all four on one computer using a dual output graphics card (Nvidea GeForce 8600 GTS for me), and I don't have any issues with it. I did notice a bunch of problems initially when I got it, but after spending $600 for the new Intel mobo, and processor suite, then it was pretty much smooth running from there. However, my initial computer was built in '04, so I was due for a revamp. But yes, this option works nice. There's a bezel management option in TH2G which will help you size up the screen some, but I haven't found anything to actually adjust how you can move the image. Overall, a great deal.

    Nick

Similar Threads

  1. Flat Screen Monitors behind instrument panel?
    By Crescent in forum Video Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-17-2010, 10:23 AM
  2. Different Screen sizes, different resolutions, TH2Go, full screen mode.
    By Tony Hill in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-20-2010, 12:27 PM
  3. TH2GO and 2 large LCD tv's
    By Flying_Dutchman in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-20-2009, 02:46 PM
  4. How to fit engravity large toggle caps on large switches
    By ivar hestnes in forum Cockpit Building Tutorials
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-04-2009, 05:34 PM
  5. Flat screen monitors
    By JimmyGerrard in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-14-2008, 01:20 AM