Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cockpit Sonic ADF USB Head

    Has anyone bought and used any of Cockpit Sonic USB radio heads?

    They are the only company I could find producing a USB ADF head. A bit pricey, but it seems they have a monoply on a stand-alone ADF.

    Any experience with any of their radio heads would be appreciated. Oh, and how's the shipping time and costs to the States?

    Thanks.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member ENKB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ENKB, NORWAY
    Posts
    28
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes, I have 2 of them. Works very well, PnP. Just to plug it into your USB hub or whatever. The driver you just download from their site. Also you need +12 V from a powesypply to make it work, and to add +5 for the backlighting. The intensity on the displays you can dim from the program.
    Then, turn the knobs, press TRF and there you go. Also you can hear the morse code by turning the tone on/off switch.
    I also think the pricing is a bit high, but..
    Shipment.. I was in Germany last summer and went to his office and picked it up, better send a e-mail and ask. can't be more then $40 i guess.

    Here is a pict of my pedestal, all avionics are from Cockpitsonic.
    / Don't look at the brown rings below the ADF, is only cofee and moonshine..
    svein k

    <<< SVEIN K >>>

  3. Thanks Michael Carter thanked for this post
  4. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    OK, thanks for the reply. That's what I wanted to hear. Power is no problem in my sim. Just wanted to hear that they are reliable and trouble-free.

    Thanks!
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    GoFlight Remote (kit) allows you to build an ADF using a real Unit ...more your alley
    ...For about $140...Easy as 123 to program, No power supply needed, USB 5v.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  6. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes, it is, but I don't feel like fooling around trying to set up a gear train for the analog numeral dials.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    As you will end up anyway with a digital display with CockpitSONIC or CP flight it would be just a matter of getting the real stuff out , putting the digital displays in and having the knobs on encoders shaft.
    Did That for a Transponder
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  8. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I did consider the Go Flight 166 unit but since the 614 has a rotating drum to display the frequncy selection, they won't work.

    The 614 tunes a lot like an old car radio except instead of the needle moving, the drum rotates.

    But thanks for the thoughts. I've looked at this from about every angle and the 727 is just going to have to do with a digital display upgrade.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  9. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Carter View Post
    I did consider the Go Flight 166 unit but since the 614 has a rotating drum to display the frequncy selection, they won't work.

    Sorry to be so stubborn....just fun
    Remove the drum and put a digital display in the window...exactly what I did with the above transponder...the digits behind the smoked glass are 7seg LEDS !!!. the drum is gone. and the knobs activate GoFlight encoders
    Cheers
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

Similar Threads

  1. Sounds Head in Cockpit
    By coolmanak in forum Airbus Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-26-2011, 04:07 PM
  2. Issue with Cockpit Sonic autobrake panel and Spoilers system
    By flya320 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-02-2010, 08:57 AM
  3. 737 Over Head connections.
    By ramazoti in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-23-2010, 03:37 PM
  4. About Triple Head 2 Go
    By aircanbp in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-28-2009, 12:32 AM
  5. 747 over head panels
    By 747captian in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2009, 05:31 PM