Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Phidget where do you get them

    where do you guys buy your Phidget slider, Phidget boards and servos. When I check for how much they cost they where 100.00 a piece and I need 4 for my overhead panel for the 747 and I dont know what type I need for the throtel's. I would like to have the auto throtel. what type of servos do you need. I build RC airplanes and I have a 4 servos laying around frome a plane that my friend crashed last year. They still work I ave tested them would they work for the auto throtel.

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Why, at the Phidget Pharm of course!

    Here ya go: http://www.phidgets.com/
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Phidget sliders

    Is the Phidget slider 60mm is what you use to build you trotel quadrent or is ther some other slider that is long like a 70mm slider or is that as big as they come?

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I used 100mm Panasonic slide pots for mine.

    I don't use Phidgets though. I just posted the link for you.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I am using Leo Bodnar's BU0836 for my throttle and one for my SP-150 autopilot. Inexpensive and work very nicely if I do say so myself. Course that overhead has so much, I can certainly see the need for Phidgets.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  6. #6
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Another option: Consider using string pots.
    These can be expensive to buy, but can be built fairly inexpensively.

    Mike has shared how to do this.
    This thread is located at:
    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/showthread.php?=14651&goto=newpost

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    eham
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Fs2phidgets & textlcd

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Hello, I have installed a textlcd in my aft-overhead functioning as the IRS display.

    I cannot figure out how to convert the 0560 (lat. offset in fsx) and the 0568 (lon. offset) for displaying right numbers in degrees on my phidgets textlcd.

    Is there anybody who can help me and give me a push in the right direction ?

    thanks

    André

  8. #8
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Andre,
    Conversion to degrees is not supported at this time.
    Regards,
    Alan.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    eham
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Dyer View Post
    Andre,
    Conversion to degrees is not supported at this time.
    Regards,
    Alan.
    Thank you for your reply Alan, I know it is not supported, but can we handle it with fsvariable editor ? I can see the raw value,, but do not understand how to edit it. (recalculate) Maybe it makes sence for you after reading the text below from Enrico ?

    here we go....

    offset 0560 8
    Latitude of aircraft in FS units.
    To convert to Degrees:

    If your compiler supports long long (64-bit) integers then use such a variable to simply copy this 64-bit value into a double floating point variable and multiply by 90.0/(10001750.0 * 65536.0 * 65536.0).

    Otherwise you will have to handle the high 32-bits and the low 32-bits separately, combining them into one double floating point value (say dHi). To do, copy the high part (the 32-bit int at 0564) to one double and the low part (the 32-bit unsigned int at 0560) to another (say dLo). Remember that the low part is only part of a bigger number, so doesn’t have a sign of its own. Divide dLo by (65536.0 * 65536.0) to give it its proper magnitude compared to the high part, then either add it to or subtract it from dHi according to whether dHi is positive or negative. This preserves the integrity of the original positive or negative number. Finally multiply the result by 90.0/10001750.0 to get degrees.

    Either way, a negative result is South, positive North.

  10. #10
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    No, you cannot handle with FSvariable. Is not supported.
    Don't know how many different ways I can say this.

    Technical document that Enrico forwarded to you is from Peter Dowson's SDK. Peter Dowson is the author, not Enrico.
    If you read the acknowledgments in the SDK you will see I am one of the early contributors. I am fully aware of this document and its contents.

    Doesn't pmSystems support IRS functionality?
    Wouldn't pmSystems work better for you?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Link to DIY TQ with Phidget 8/8/8
    By l_loupias in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-26-2008, 11:51 AM
  2. LED & Phidget confusion???
    By mpl330 in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-02-2008, 11:24 AM
  3. Phidget 0/16/16
    By wchambers in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-02-2004, 01:03 PM
  4. LED 64 Phidget
    By wchambers in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-09-2004, 09:51 PM
  5. 8/8/8 phidget help
    By imported_737nut in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-03-2004, 06:00 PM