Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Any wiring ideas for a matrix!

    Hi Everyone!

    As my sim is rapidly progressing now, i am running out of inputs on my Leo Bodnar BU0836 interface card, at the moment i am using 12 switches in 'simple mode' and using 3 axis (Throttle, Prop, Mix), but i now need a few more inputs as i have a few more "add-ons" and need to free up a few more inputs.

    I know that i can add upto 32+4 buttons/switches to the card using a 'matrix', but i really dont know how to put leo's diagram of the matrix into action as i wouldnt know where to start.

    Is there any info on how to create a matrix board or any wiring diagrams, as i know you need to use diodes aswell.

    Have you wired up a matrix and how have you done it, whats the easiest way to wire it?

    Surely you guys have done this many times before, so i could really do with your help!

    Cheers

    Alex

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    to the rescue again........

    hello alex.........
    take a look at this doc http://www.737ng.co.uk/EFIS_BU0836_HOWTO.pdf
    bottom of page 3 is exactly what you want to know. even got a photograph.
    have a good one chap.... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  3. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  4. #3
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ian saves the day! Again!

    Tip......always post a new thread in the section that Ian has his 'post' in coz you get the cream of the crop answering your questions!

    Ian saves the day.........yet again!

    Cheers Ian,

    Will try and get my head round your drawings soon pal!

  5. #4
    10+ Posting Member Triggerhappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    20
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Any wiring ideas for a matrix!

    I chose the "easy way" out of the Matrix dilemma.

    Now I do admitt that i'm probably a bit on the lazy side, but after hours of eching PCB's and soldering I simply got a hold of these:


    .. and if you look closely you'll see that they are "two stories" high. So by soldering the diodes into rows of 6 (just like Leo's scetch), I now have a matrix that is real simple to connect my inputs to..

    The connectors I actually found inside a one of those old electrical cabinets that was thrown away on the local garbage dump site..!


    Pc no.1: Asus P4KC motherboard, Inetl Core 2 Duo 2,4GHz, 2Gb DDR2 RAM, Geforce Quatro 7300FX, Modded Cougar and DIY Pedals, (main Pc running LockOn)
    Pc No.2: Asus Motherboard, Pentuim4 DualCore 2,4GHz, 2Gb DDR2 RAM, Geforce 7300 Gx, (Used to control IOCards from Opencockpits.)

  6. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  7. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    SW Florida USA
    Posts
    73
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Any wiring ideas for a matrix!

    Hi Alex:

    I did this a while ago for a friend. It is the Bu0836 matrix.
    Maybe it will help. The terminal blocks need to accomodate 6 wires each.
    Some blocks can be tripled. Many types are available on Ebay.

    My apology for the poor quality. I can re-do it in Autocad if any interest.

    Regards Ken K
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post

Similar Threads

  1. CAE MCDU - mapped Matrix HELP PLEASE?
    By Matt Olieman in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-20-2011, 05:28 PM
  2. Extremely Confused - Matrix Wiring
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 05-02-2010, 12:37 PM
  3. Matrix with pulse generator
    By smendlik in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-08-2009, 06:18 PM
  4. x-keys matrix board question
    By max13 in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-22-2008, 09:39 AM
  5. key matrix
    By kahraman in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-02-2004, 02:58 AM