Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: trim

  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    s/w germany
    Posts
    127
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    trim

    Hello all,
    first i wanna say sorry for my poor english...
    We build a trim machanism for my control columns and i want show you the first results.
    On the right site of the picture you see the motor. It has a gear (145:1) and drives the plate. In the middle of the plate is a hole. Through this hole comes a pipe that is mounted to the columns. There are 2 dumpers mounted on flexible arms. When the motor moves the plate, the dumpers pressing to the pipe and moves the control columns. This is the trim function.
    You can move the columns manuel at ervery time. In this case you work againts the force of the dumpers. The plate wont move, beacause the motor is not turning. So you have manuel control at any time.
    Iam not sure yet how i should connect the trim to the sim, beacause there is one poti thats work fo both movements..the trim and manuel.
    Any ideas are welcome
    Best Ragards
    Thomas
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. Thanks AndyT, Mike.Powell thanked for this post
  3. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nice work Thomas!
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  4. #3
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    406
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes, I agree, very nice work.

    These sorts of mechanisms are not discussed nearly frequently enough. The complexity stops many people from working on them.

    I think more pictures, and information about the type of dampers you chose, why you chose them, and the motor configuration would be welcomed by many. I, certainly, would find it interesting.

  5. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    s/w germany
    Posts
    127
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    yes thats right, this kind of sim parts are very rare to find on sim-builder-sites!

    Since my english knowledge is not the best in town, its difficult to describe such technical things. I will try it...so dont hit me if it sounds like banana

    The problem with trim is to move the control colums with a trim motor without loosing the normal function of the column. The motor will allways blogg the column if you dont find a solution to decouple the trim from normal capability to move the yoke manuel.

    So i had the idea to take a plate and link it to a gear motor via a threaded rod. Now you could move the column with the motor in a very fine way, but the old problem is still exist....the colum ist fixed and blogged by the plate or better the hole it the plate.
    When the part of the plate thats make the touch to the column isnīt fixed you can move it with your hands. For this "touchzone" i use the dampers (200N). When you move the column by hand, the middle pipe gives this movement to the little arms and from here it goes to the the dampers.

    Thomas
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    s/w germany
    Posts
    127
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Electronical connection

    Hello again,

    can somebody help me to get something clear in my head?! The controls are connected via 2 potentiometers (1 for Ailerons, 1 for Elevator).

    When i move the trim motor the elevator poti gives the changes to the flightsim. But i think that the trim need a own poti. I imagine that the trim position works with a needed- and existing position thats registered with a this poti. The 2 values are compared and when the existing position differs from the needed position the motor moves the column to the correct position.

    When i use the same poti for trim and normal movements it is not the correct way.

    Anybody have some ideas about this??

    Regards

    Thomas

  7. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I don't know how to solve your problem, but this might help understand the system a bit.

    When you use the trim switch you are trimming the entire horizontal stabilizer. When you are using the yoke to fly it, the elevator tabs on the horizontal stab are moving.

    Two separate but related systems.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #7
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    s/w germany
    Posts
    127
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Michael,

    yes i know the way trim works in real. I guess the problem is easy to solve.

    I try to explain my problem on another way (to LA)

    Without trim capabilities, the yoke construction needs one poti for each ruder (elevator and Ailerons). It means that the elevator poti catch the movements of the column (back-/forward). The additional trim-motor does just the same...it moves the column for- and backward, so the elevator poti catch this movements also! But this poti is not linked via FSUIPC to the TRIM offset, and will not have effects to the trim-offset inside FS9, but to the elevator offset!
    I think its important to use the trim offset additional (takeoff warning and so on). But when i add an additional poti to the construction, i cant prevent that both potis catch the column movements and so the sim wont work correct. It gets nose down /nose up values from boh potis at the same time.

    For that problem i need a solution.

    Hope my crasy english is good enough to explain it

    Regards

    Thomas

  9. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Youe english is much better than my Deutsch.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  10. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    16
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Trim

    Hi Thomas,

    I believe you need 2 pots, 1 for the primary flight control (Elevator) and 1 for the secondary flight control (Elevator trim). Attach 1 pot to the column movement for the elevator and the second pot to the moving trim plate for the trim function. The aileron will need the same setup.

    Fritz

  11. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Your engineering is incredible.

    I agree, attach a pot to the trim plate, and attach the elevator pot to the column.

    Great stuff.
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Trim
    By Mac in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2009, 01:11 PM
  2. 737 Trim
    By Mac in forum MyCockpit Support:
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-16-2009, 07:51 AM
  3. 737 trim
    By ivar hestnes in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-30-2008, 03:35 PM
  4. Rudder Trim?
    By Pierre24 in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-14-2008, 04:17 AM
  5. Trim
    By hercules in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-09-2007, 04:04 PM