Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Simple Push / Pull Break Lever For Cessna 182

    Hi,

    Can anyone tell me what would be the best way to make a push / pull break lever for a C182, im thinking that a slide pot would do the job but then again it might feel like a throttle lever considering i already have 3 of these (throt,prop & mix) and there might be alittle too much friction on the slide pot as i need a simple push / pull motion without the friction, a rotary pot would work i guess too, but would rather opt out of the idea, is there a much simple way of doing this?

    Any help will be much appreciated!

    Cheers!

    Alex


    Ps. I have the LeoBodnar BU0836 I/O Board

  2. Thanks Jackpilot thanked for this post
  3. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Break Lever?
    If you mean Parking brake, what you need is a switch not a Pot.
    There are all kind of lever switches which would do the trick.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  4. #3
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Desktop avaiator sell the very thing you are describing if you want to go to their website for ideas if nothing else!

    Regards,
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  5. #4
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi, yeah i mean parking break, i want to make the parking break as mentioned on Desktop aviator, but i want to make 1 myself as ive made everything else from scratch lol..........any ideas?

    The thing is, ive used all 12 switches in simple mode on my BU0836 and that means if i want more switches then i will have to rewire the whole of my panel into a matrix, and all my hard work wiring and soldering my panels goes down the drain, i have 4 spare pot inputs free on my board which idealy i would of liked to use as i dont have any more inputs unless i matrix them all !
    Last edited by AlexJ; 01-07-2009 at 02:32 PM. Reason: extra info

  6. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Just use any Joystick button, and assign the parking brake function to it, direct in FS or better with FSUIPC.
    Then open your joystick get the two wires of that button and hook them to your parking brake switch.
    As simple as that.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  7. #6
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cheers Jackpilot!

    Your giving me ideas now, i think i have an old usb joystick in my shed, i might rip that apart for the interface, i think that has 4 buttons!

    My yoke on otherhand is not so easy to open up for modding, but i have ideas now! so cheers jackpilot!


    _____________________
    Alex

    AP08

  8. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Or you can get an old style Jeep Push/Pull switch for lights and wire it up to your hacked joystick.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  9. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Parking Brake

    hi alex...
    the DA parking brake switch uses Hall Sensors (magnetic switches) like the ones used in intruder alarms (on the doors). i may have a DA Parking Brake box in my junk pile. i
    used to use one on the test rig. basically its a box with a slider running through it. on the slider is a magnet. as the magnet positions over the switch it closes it, same as pressing a button.
    PM me your home address and if i can find it, you are welcome to it for free.
    connect it to your interface card and in FSUIPC buttons and switches page assign the switch for FS Control. in the dropdown menu, select offset byte set and in the 'when button pressed' in the offset box enter 0BC8 and parameter 1. in the 'when button released' boxes again use offset 0BC8 but this time, the parameter is 0. that gives you a distinct ON/OFF state with the parking brakes instead of a 'toggle'.
    go for it .... regards from wales ... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  10. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  11. #9
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Ian!

    Hi Ian,

    I sent you a private message, so check you inbox!

    Again, many thanks to you!

  12. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Even a better idea, may be a Headlight switch out of an old car. Just go to your local auto shop and grab an old push pull headlight switch and modify the handle to look the way you want it to look.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Encoder push - pull
    By verticallimit in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-18-2010, 12:34 PM
  2. push/pull rotary encorders
    By spiro in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2009, 06:22 PM
  3. Push/pull controls
    By Kerbo in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 10-21-2009, 07:37 PM
  4. Push & Pull Encoder
    By Matt Olieman in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-05-2009, 07:28 PM
  5. Buying or Building a Rotary Swithc with Push and Pull function
    By Goose in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-27-2008, 01:44 PM