Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Inpu/Output modules

    Hi All,

    Does anybody know of a supplier that supplies both an input board (switches) and output (LEDS) board that is as simple as Leos Bodnars cards? Or in other words something that doesn't need to be programmed like OC cards with SIOC.

    Thanks

    Rob

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    GoFlight has remote kits of their GF-P8 (8 pushbuttons/8 leds) module, GF_T8 (8 toggle switches/8 leds) module and RP-48 (4 rotary encoders/8 pushbuttons/8 leds). Very easy to program with their software, pull down list, drag and drop. The boards could be had for $55 US from Digital Flight.

    Regards,
    Henry

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    Thanks for the info. I'm not sure I explained what I'm trying to do. I'm trying to emulate a 737 overhead panel and would require some kind of output control for LEDS that allows me to switch them on or off depending upon the switch position as some annunciators are on when the switch is off and vice versa. The GF stuff would not suffice as I will be using DPDT switches with a mix of two way and three wa, some momentary etc.

    Rob

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rob, its a tough Trade..

    I personally don't think you will find one that does it all, but if you run PMsystems, I personally can tell you that your LED's couldn't be any easier using a Phidgets LED64 Card, and for a hundred Canadian for 64 LED outputs... You can't go wrong.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by mounty View Post
    I'm trying to emulate a 737 overhead panel and would require some kind of output control for LEDS that allows me to switch them on or off depending upon the switch position as some annunciators are on when the switch is off and vice versa.
    This is exactly the application area where OC+SIOC is the perfect tool

    For the logic you have to build in order to emulate overhead functions you will certainly need some kind of programming, I'm afraid.

    SIOC is not difficult, study the small examples at my HowTo site

    And BTW SIOC costs nothing...

    regards,
    Nico

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Trev and Nico,

    The problem I have is in understanding programming. I am at a total loss when it comes to any kind of programming. I read some of the how too's Nico and I still could not understand it. This programming stuff is well beyond my capabilities and always has been. That's why I'm looking for something that doesn't require programming.

    Many Thanks

    Rob

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thats the beauty of Phidgets.. The programming would be as easy as..

    led00=battbus1
    led01=antiice
    led02=lnosegear

    Get the idea.. Super duper easy..
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Trevor,

    Your examples look like "1-1 logic", very easy.

    It's my understanding that Rob wants to emulate functions. If so you need more complex logic for that such as
    led = batbus1 AND NOT rightgenoff.

    You need programming tools for that, either via a GUI (have not seen such a tool yet) or via software statements like SIOC.

    regards,
    Nico

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Exactly... Pmsystems has the majority of the logic already programmed to variables. all you do when connecting phidgets to the logic is assigning the variable name to the led Number. and Presto.
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Guys,

    Unfortunately I'm not using PM SYstems, but PMDG, hence the emulation vs logic circuits. Looks like I'll have to use the old fashioned way of using DPDT and three way switches to run one circuit to FSUIPC and another thro 5v circuit for LEDS and use the switch position only for control. I was just looking to see if there was another way similar to Sim Boards without having to use keystroke combo's for assigning switch functions. I currently use Leos card with FSUIPC 737 Macros.

    Rob

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. OC Modules
    By westman in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-30-2010, 05:31 AM
  2. OC USB output card
    By 150245 in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-17-2010, 05:24 PM
  3. Output cards
    By roblockett in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-02-2009, 12:26 PM
  4. Video output
    By Bob Reed in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-04-2008, 12:18 AM