Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    146
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    PM system power down

    Hi Guys,

    Happy new year to you all.

    After looking at my half wired up overhead for the last 2 years i spend some time over the xmas vacation to finally wire up all the knobs and rotaries and even to put in the place it belongs and all work perfect except, when i power down the Pc running PM system and to which the Phidget cards are connected all the Annunciators remain on even after the PC is closed down..

    any idea why?


    Peter

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict AchillesP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Greece, Thessaloniki
    Posts
    381
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi and happy new year,

    Close the battery switch and then the pc.

    It happens with phidgets

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Nielsen View Post
    Hi Guys,

    Happy new year to you all.

    After looking at my half wired up overhead for the last 2 years i spend some time over the xmas vacation to finally wire up all the knobs and rotaries and even to put in the place it belongs and all work perfect except, when i power down the Pc running PM system and to which the Phidget cards are connected all the Annunciators remain on even after the PC is closed down..

    any idea why?


    Peter
    With best regards,
    Achilles
    http://www.thefsps.com

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    146
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Tks
    that did the trick
    Peter

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Peter another way of doing this, is I power the Phidget Boards from a computer power supply of it's own. One side of my Batt switch turns on and off that computer power supply. The other side of that switch goes to the interface board to for Battery control.

    When I close the Batt switch all my indicators come alive, and when I open the switch the power supply shuts off, turning all the indicators off.

    Works like a charm.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Trevor,

    thanks for this post, i was also thinking about this solution, but i was not sure if it will work!!
    So by turning on the PSU, this also gives power to Phidgets? You don't have a delay for boot the phidget's board and not loose the second power-on command you send to them?

    Eddie

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nope Edie, Its instant. The Phidgets LED64 cards are still USB Recognized regardless of the power on or off. Once PMsystems is loaded and all is clear... Throw the switch and it all works grand.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks again,

    when i will work with the electronics of my overhead, i will test it with my Opencockpits cards, to see if this also works with them!!

    Eddie

Similar Threads

  1. POWER?
    By skyline223 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-09-2012, 05:26 AM
  2. MCP Power up
    By ktroemer in forum PM Boing MCP
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-02-2010, 08:20 AM
  3. PC power supply to power Phidgets LED 64
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 04:21 PM
  4. PM system Power Problem
    By Peter Nielsen in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-11-2009, 12:26 PM
  5. AC power help
    By 737NUT in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-16-2006, 11:59 PM