Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    How To? Dimmer for 5V Grain of Wheat Bulbs

    Question for the electronics experts...(You out there Mike?)

    I am going to be using 5V grain of wheat bulbs for backlighting per a discussion thread that was seen here a month or so ago.

    Can someone provide a simple dimmer circuit diagram that would work well for this application. 5V supply will be from computer power supply and will likely be supplying a few hundred grain of wheat bulbs by the time I'm done. Is this just a matter of throwing in a Pot in line? If so, what size?


    Thank you

    Scott

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You cant insert a potmeter directly, because it will probably burn up from the heat generated.

    You should use a rheostat capable of the ampere load that the bulbs draw. So you need to measure the total ampere load. A rheostat also generate heat so be careful regarding fire hazard.

    What I have purchased is PWM (pulse width modulation) DC-motor controllers for this purpose. They apply the power to the bulbs in a cycle which you adjust with a potmeter. Big benefit with this is that very little heat is generated compared to a rheostat where lots of heat are generated.

    I have bought two different modules. KTA-195 and KTA-067. These boards are cheap.

    KTA-067 for map-light and KTA-195 for backlighting of panels. I have done a little test already of the map-lights and result is great.

    Video of testing http://s31.photobucket.com/albums/c3...t=MOV00009.flv

    Link to manufacturer http://www.oceancontrols.com.au/moto...rs.htm#KT-5195


  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The bulbs are 80mA bulbs. So if I estimate approx 300 bulbs that translates to 24 Amps correct?

    Would this work for all of them then?

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Heres another similiar and cheaper....

    http://www.lightsosoft.com/servlet/Detail?no=84

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The theoretical MAX amperage of the KTA-195 is 20 Ampere. Because of the MOSFET`s connected to the board cant handle more. But my brother which is an electronics engineer said that I could install two more MOSFET`s and one more cooling rib in paralel to the existing mosfet to add more ampere capability. Easy to do. Just solder the second mosfet`s on the backside of the board, and make sure they turn the other way than the already installed ones.

    But maybe also it is good enough to install a CPU fan to help cooling the Mosfet`s.

    I have the boards here, but not have done this testing yet. Will order the needed parts very soon. I also need to measure the ampere load from my IBL panels.

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by XOrionFE View Post
    Heres another similiar and cheaper....

    http://www.lightsosoft.com/servlet/Detail?no=84
    You can not use that one for sure. Only 3 amperes

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by ivar hestnes View Post
    The theoretical MAX amperage of the KTA-195 is 20 Ampere. Because of the MOSFET`s connected to the board cant handle more. But my brother which is an electronics engineer said that I could install two more MOSFET`s and one more cooling rib in paralel to the existing mosfet to add more ampere capability. Easy to do. Just solder the second mosfet`s on the backside of the board, and make sure they turn the other way than the already installed ones.

    But maybe also it is good enough to install a CPU fan to help cooling the Mosfet`s.

    I have the boards here, but not have done this testing yet. Will order the needed parts very soon. I also need to measure the ampere load from my IBL panels.

    Ok, I will await your results. Would you please post them once done? This would be very helpful. Thanks for the insight.

    If anyone else knows of a similiar solution and one available from a US Supplier please post as well.

    Thanks Ivar! Also congrats on your being published!

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sure. I will post when testing is done. I would guess in about two weeks, because it take some time before electronic parts is here.

    I have done extensive searching for PWM boards that can handle more amperage than 20, and thats not easy to find. But please post someone if you can find

    Thanks for the congrats

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by ivar hestnes View Post
    Sure. I will post when testing is done. I would guess in about two weeks, because it take some time before electronic parts is here.

    I have done extensive searching for PWM boards that can handle more amperage than 20, and thats not easy to find. But please post someone if you can find

    Thanks for the congrats
    20 is pretty good. That is 250 lights for the bulbs I will be using and may be enough to get two boards. I havent sat and planned all of the panels yet because I am still awaiting their arrival from Innovative FSP but there are a lot of panels and with grain of wheat bulbs I am figuring around 30 lights on average per panel. I think there are about 20 panels but some will need a lot less than others.

    This will be a lot of fun

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You can buy a 30 amp rheostat from Mouser. No muss, no fuss, and no guesswork.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. USBOutput card dimmer control
    By kelety in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-02-2010, 03:05 PM
  2. FS2P5 - 18 Dimmer
    By neuman5022 in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-22-2010, 03:42 AM
  3. Real bulbs for real parts
    By LH784 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-27-2009, 08:25 PM
  4. Grain of Wheat bulbs
    By imported_767300 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-06-2008, 07:28 PM