Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    3 Dual Rotary Encoder

    Hi everyone.
    Just made my first dual rotary encoder for 3.
    Works perfectly with my BU0386X.
    This might not mean much to most but, on a tight budget, this is a bit like winning the lottery!
    One down, seven to go.

    Thanks.
    Colaboy.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  3. #2
    75+ Posting Member


    NigelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Aylesbury, England
    Posts
    122
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well done...

    Hi Colaboy,
    Well done on the dual encoder. I've been watching some of your threads with great interest as we seem to betackling similar problems at the same time.

    I cannot get a SINGLE encoder sorted as yet! Went out today after I got home from Ireland and raided Maplin for a soldering iron and a few bits. It's rubbish. Won't even melt solder on direct contact with the tip, never mind solder anything TO anything else. I'm a bit depressed about it as I will have to wait until 20JAN before I can get a better one and have another crack at the encoders.

    Oh well, 2009 is in with a predictable start!

    Nigel.
    I can't see the light but I think I found the tunnel...
    www.shamrock075.webs.com

  4. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Colaboy

    A neat practical solution, presumably using a cut off from an aluminium box section - I wish I had seen this earlier!! I made mine using plasticard and stand off pillars, however, your solution takes some beating

    Well done and I know how you feel when it all works out

    Regards

    David

  5. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    171
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    As an addendum on the remark about using a short part of an (aluminium) profile.
    See pic's. This profile is 3 cm. Look also to the cuts in the aluminium to let the second "rotary" inside, (otherwise it will not fit).

    Hessel
    Attached Images Attached Images
    767 Level-D

  6. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi guys, thanks for the comments.

    Nigel.
    Tough luck mate, frustrating isn't it.
    I strugled with soldering for three years or more, just because I was doing it wrong.
    Keep checking the Maplin website for this part number N78AR Looks expensive at the moment but every couple of months or so, they sell it for 9.99. If your soldering skills are a bit short of the mark as mine are, it's a very flexible unit.

    David.
    Thanks for that.
    I was looking for a cheap source of ali box section and I suddenly had a brain wave.
    A spirit level from a pound shop!!!
    Just cut 25mm pieces of the ends with a hack saw. Doesn't get much simpler than that does it?
    I'm really pleased with how they turned out.

    Hessel.
    I'm using encoders rather than switches, so not a problem for me.
    Good advice none the less though.
    Thanks man.

    Again, thanks to everybody for the comments and feedback.

    Cheers.
    Colaboy.

  7. #6
    75+ Posting Member


    NigelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Aylesbury, England
    Posts
    122
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If at first you don't succeed...

    Hi Colaboy (and friends),
    Well, after more than a few attempts and a bit more research (why do I always do the research last?!?) I managed to do a spot of soldering. I don't know why it's working intermittently for me - guess the technique still needs a lot of refinement!

    But I have made a working encoder and connected it to my BU0836X card. This for me is a BIG step forward! Need to work on the soldering a bit now, but the trepidation I have felt so far has faded a little.

    Small victories, people!

    Nigel.
    I can't see the light but I think I found the tunnel...
    www.shamrock075.webs.com

  8. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Nigel.
    Nice work my friend.
    Small victories they may be, but they all add up.
    I'm going to crack on with my radio panel next, then a replica 737NG throttle quad.
    It's going to take for ever but it'll be worth it when it's finished.

    Cheers.
    Colaboy.

  9. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by colaboy View Post
    Hi everyone.
    Just made my first dual rotary encoder for 3.
    Works perfectly with my BU0386X.
    This might not mean much to most but, on a tight budget, this is a bit like winning the lottery!
    One down, seven to go.

    Thanks.
    Colaboy.

    Was that 3 the costs just to convert two single encoders into dual or the total cost including the two single encoders? If it's the total costs could you tell us where you got hold of the encoders for so cheap.

    Cheers
    Darryl

  10. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Darryl.
    That was including the encoders.
    I got them from ebay.
    Here is the item number 180330342489
    Hope that works.
    They work out at 1 each.
    They work really well with the Leo Bodnar BU0836X.
    I use them for my MCP and EFIS as well.
    They take a couple of weeks to get here from china but they are well worth the wait at that price.

    Thanks.
    Paul.

  11. #10
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by colaboy View Post
    Hi Darryl.
    That was including the encoders.
    I got them from ebay.
    Here is the item number 180330342489
    Hope that works.
    They work out at 1 each.
    They work really well with the Leo Bodnar BU0836X.
    I use them for my MCP and EFIS as well.
    They take a couple of weeks to get here from china but they are well worth the wait at that price.

    Thanks.
    Paul.
    Thanks Paul for getting back to me. These encoders are amazingly good price, at first I thought it was one for 9.99 and then it clicked it was for multiple.
    I'll definately be looking at ordering some of these and attempting to get them working with my Atmel STK500 kit.

    I'm new to the use of encoders but understand they're used for setting the heading bug, whole number/decimal frequency adjustments for nav/com/adf etc.
    I know there are all diferent types such as mechanical absolute, incremental etc. I believe the ones for sale on this website are mechanical absolute and provide
    a set number of detents/pulses per revolution (usually something such as 10, 30, 60, 100 etc). So if there are 30 detents/pulses per revolution that means each detent is 12deg.
    However as you know the heading bug is an angle and that will be from 0-360deg. So don't we need an encoder that has 360 detents/pulses per revolution or am I missing something here?
    Do we overcome this by writing code in a microprocessor that monitors the encoder and depending on the RPM that it is turned at increments the associated variable at a faster speed (eg. instead of 1deg it changes at 10deg).
    Or am I missing something here?

    Also what do you do for the heading dials on an MCP such as that on a 737 where it has a selector switch for bank angle, encoder for direction and I believe a push button to set (not 100% on the button)? Most threads that I've seen so far look at making dual encoders and not an encoder + selector switch.

    Something I was looking at making was something similar to the new Saitek Instrument Panels that are coming out. OLED displays are quite cheap to purchase and these encoders would be great to use with them.

    Regards
    Darryl

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Dual Rotary Encoder in SIOC
    By 737dragon in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-13-2010, 06:01 AM
  2. I can't remember where I saw a dual rotary encoder
    By Doon1 in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-15-2010, 08:35 PM
  3. Dual encoder rotary pins
    By Fliegerbenny in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-16-2009, 01:28 PM
  4. Turning a Rotary encoder with a pushbutton into a dual rotary encoder
    By snizbatch in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 03:57 AM
  5. Dual Rotary Encoder
    By Algarve737NG in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-27-2009, 12:52 PM