Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question about Opencockpits Hardware

    Hello

    Do anybody have experience with Opencockpit Hardware?
    Especially with the Plug and Play Radio Modules?

    I want to know, how can i make them run with the Simulator?

    Do i need SIOC? And how can i use for example 2 NAV Modules
    (one for Captain and one for FO Side)?
    How can i assign them so the right function?

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Captain, you'll find some information on this in an earlier thread:

    Quote Originally Posted by xtreme3d View Post
    Here is an update,

    There is an installer that will detect if you have two radios or navs and will configure them as 1 and 2. If you want to change them all you have to do is switch the connectors; 1 becomes 2 and 2 becomes 1. Seems easy enough.

    Pedro.
    Here's the link to that thread...
    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/showthread.php?t=14289

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    MD, US
    Posts
    97
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Dave,

    I finally have my COM and NAV modules, they are really easy to setup.
    All you need is the software from this link and you are up and running (install software, plug in modules and that is it). At least that was my case, also if you are using them on a client pc make sure you have wideClient running with the OC software. I only have one COM and NAV so I have not seen how the program setup the modules if you have more than one of the same (the progam .CFG file has lines for more than one module, I guess is automatic once they are plugged in). I will post pics of the modules once I find my digital camera. I was very impressed I am running FlightDeckSoftware and the modules were compatible right out of the box.

    Here is the link,

    http://www.opencockpits.com/catalog/...-pp-p-218.html

    Regards,

    Pedro.

    "Keep 'em Flying and Enjoy the Ride"

    ODYSSEY NG
    737Simulator

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the update. Can't wait to get mine!
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    MD, US
    Posts
    97
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello Captains,


    Here are some pics of the modules. Just to let you know they did not come with USB cables and the TEST button is not functional (e-mailed OC to confirm this and still waiting for a reply). In my opinion, for the price I got a really nice product. If you plug in the modules without running the OC software only the backlight will work, once you run the software everything else comes to life. Also, you can run the software first and then plug them in and everything will be up and running (piece of cake).

    Hope this helps,

    Pedro
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. Thanks Michael Carter, captdave thanked for this post
  7. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    MD, US
    Posts
    97
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,


    Here are a few more pics of the Opencockpits COM/NAV modules.

    Enjoy,


    Pedro.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. Thanks Michael Carter, captdave thanked for this post
  9. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank you very much for the pics.

    So I ordered 1 com and 2 nav radios.
    I hope they will come soon

    Can you explain me please, for that it that jumper connector on the bottom side of the panel?

    Do i need for each Modul a seperate USB Cable? So a USB Hub will be for need right?

  10. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Opencockpits wrote that the backlight is managed by a software.

    is it possible to manage it with the flight simulator?

  11. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the photos. They look more substantial than other offerings I've seen.

    You could slide those chassis right into a Gables box.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  12. #10
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for those pics Pedro,

    I can tell you from having just finished building 2 x COMM, 2 X NAV, 1 x ADF and 1 x XDPR from the OC kit components that I would have paid the (very little) extra for these pre-built modules had they been available at the time. Not that it wasn't enjoyable and satisfying, nor was it difficult, it's just that it's very time consuming and the price difference is negligible. I estimated that the COMM radio cost me approx 100 Euro for all the components, then about 5 hours to build. The pre-built module cost 135 Euro plus shipping (probably about 10 Euro, and cheaper if you buy several).

    I don't know how they do it, and as Pedro has found out, they're simple to get going.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. new opencockpits hardware ,new error messages
    By jnr641802 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-09-2010, 04:31 PM
  2. please help hardware
    By richard1967 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 08:41 PM
  3. Best USB Hub for GF Hardware?
    By Tomlin in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-08-2007, 04:08 PM
  4. Hardware for PM FCU
    By mmakela in forum Magenta Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-30-2007, 02:30 PM
  5. fmc hardware and PM fmc
    By nige in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-05-2007, 03:06 PM