Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Which Anti Virus ?

    As my yearly subscription to McAfee is getting close to renewal time I was wondering which virus protection other builders are using. Other forums seem to suggest that some anti virus programmes are a big drain on cpu resources. What are your experiences/views with either freeware or payware types. I know the best solution is not to have the internet connected to flightsim PC but that is not an option for me just yet.
    Bill

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I've used Kaspersky and Iolo. Both stopped viruses and other types of attacks and I've run FS9 with both. Very little drain from either.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  3. #3
    Mycockpit, Inc. CTO Deesystems's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Mycockpit,INC Boston Office
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    AV/security

    Team,
    I have been useing Comodo on my virus test system

    It is low on system resources

    http://www.comodo.com/

    Dee

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie sas550's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    236
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nod32. Works very well.

    www.eset.com

    ps. I'm only using the anti virus version. Not the Internet security app.
    Regards Anders Eriksson


    www.simcockpit.se

    FS9

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks guys. This thread had 7 replies before yesterdays problems on the site. I have now removed McAfee and have downloaded the free AVG (Avast). Seems to be working very well so far.
    Bill

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Bill,

    AVG & Avast are 2 different products - out of curiosity which did you decide to try?

    Cheers
    Mike

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    And beware if I remember correctly one or the other generates problems when flying with IVAO.

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    19
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well I work as a network admin for a big company here in NY, and I ousted McAfee and replaced everything with Kaspersky, and this is after I've been using it at home for a long long time. It is the absolute best Antivirus/Antispyware I've have ever used.

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Oops.This is what happens when you rush and don't read. Well I have installed Avast and as I said so far things are fine but it is just over a day. I don't fly online so hopefully I won't have any problems. Thanks everyone for the info.Have been trying to reply for several hours now but site keeps dropping connection
    Bill

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Bill,
    Seeing as Avast is free you havent lost anything by trying it.
    I've been using it and not hit any problems - if I do it can be just un-installed.
    Cheers
    Mike

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Greetings from Switzerland - Homecockpit virus has infected me
    By Daniel BŁtzberger in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 05:06 PM
  2. Anti Ice Annunciator Led Problem
    By Peter Nielsen in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-14-2009, 09:34 PM
  3. De/Anti-ice
    By ekezz in forum MyCockpit Crew Rest (Off topic chat forum)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-25-2007, 08:17 AM