2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

I can't believe my son did this!!

Somehow, somewhere, my son found an original set of initial training manuals published by TWA for new hires. I have more than a basic understanding of the 727 systems, functions, and how to fly it, but this goes way above and beyond.

There is so much useful information in here I don't know if I'll ever learn all of it. There are a lot of excerpts from the POH, but it explains the 'why' and 'how come's' that I've been wanting to know.

Ten million rules of thumb and hints and tips about flying the 727 as well as a lot of math calculations for weight & balance, aerodynamics, etc., etc.

Reading this stuff is like sitting down for a cup of coffee with a 727 Captain and asking all of the questions I've been dying to ask for the last six years and no one to talk to.

In addition, he also sent the almost 600 page book written by a 727 Captain about oral preparation and practical preparation for the checkride in the 727.
    More rules of thumb, why things do what they do and what causes it. CRM, roles of the aircrew, etc, etc.

Best gift I received. What am I gonna do with that boy?

Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!

Powered by FS9 & BOEING

2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar

Great Stuff Mike, I am sure happy for you. Merry Christmas, Hopefully you will get time to sit and have a quality read.

Trev

Thanks Trevor. Ordered from Afganistan to, no doubt, but shipped from Olathe, Kansas.

I hope I have time enough to just get through the first two chapters of the first manual.
    Boeing Skunk Works

Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Boeing 777 Builder