Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Triplehead analog and Vista

    Hello, I have a Matrox TripleHead analog and three widescreen (22", 1680x1050), I have installed all Matrox software and I can select some screen resolutions (3840x1024, 3072x768...) and after installed (Mode expander tool (for Windows XP) I can select new wide resolutions (ex. 3840x76 , but it doesn't work (black screens), so is it possible to have these wide resolution in Windows Vista? or it is possible only in Windows XP?).
    Thank You very much.

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Washington, IL USA
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Are you using a short cable between your PC and the Matrox box? I (and others) have found that if you use a long cable between the PC and the matrox box the higher resolutions will not work.

    Doug N.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It is about 1 meter, but it works at 3840x1024 (the resolution of my screens are 1680x1050, so the images are deformed, i need a wide resolucion like 1280x768 or 1280x720)..., the problem is with 3840x768 or 3840x720 (better resolutions for widescreens), I have enabled that resolutions with 'Matrox TripleHead2Go Expander Tool' but I think that it works only with Windows Xp... and I need that resolutions in Windows Vista (I have the analog model)...
    Thank You very much

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    190
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I think you are probably correct that the super-wide resolutions are only available with the digital TH2GO. Check the manual, the readme file, or the Matrox site for details on what is supported with your model.

    Also, lots of TH2GO folks at www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum

    --
    Bryn

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Bay, Canada
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    One does need a Triplehead2Go Digital box to get the highest 5040 x 1050 resolution.

    I am using Vista 64 bit, with a Nivida Geforce 8800 GTS card and three 22" LCD monitors that each support 1680x1050 resolution.

    My current Nvidia driver is 175.19 for Vista 64bit which does support custom display resolutions. One does need to configure the video card to support the higher custom resolution, otherwise it will not be available within the Matrox GXM utility.

    The Matrox box outputs using a 57Hz refresh rate which makes configuring more of a challenge. System can be unstable and crash if FSX display is enlarged beyond the combined screen display area. The 57hz is also non-standard on 2 of my monitors and they tend to complain.

    Compared to 3840x 1024 the higher resolution is well worth it.

    Rick

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    190
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes, the 57Hz refresh rate seems to be a big problem for many monitors, from what I read at the widescreengamingforum site.

    At least the analogue TH2GO seems to work with whatever 4:3 monitors you have, whereas folks wanting to use the digital TH2GO with ultra wide resolutions have to carefully select a set of compatible monitors. Could be a very expensive mistake

    --
    Bryn

Similar Threads

  1. An Alternative to TripleHead?
    By enela in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-14-2012, 08:08 AM
  2. New Triplehead Sol7 Rear Projection Cockpit
    By Airhogg in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-14-2009, 02:50 PM
  3. FSX with Matrox Triplehead
    By marcofa in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-12-2009, 12:40 AM
  4. Triplehead 2go confusion
    By jnr641802 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-18-2009, 09:27 AM
  5. Triplehead screen setup
    By brianwilliamson in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-10-2007, 12:28 PM