Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Philb737's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    B-737 rudder trim encoder

    Happy Holidays to all,
    I'm looking for a spring to center encoder(MOM) Center (MOM) for the(B-737) rudder trim knob, any ideas?I was able to locate a rotary switch from Mouser electronics part# 690-E3G0603N-2 , I'm not sure if this is the switch that I'm looking for!
    http://www.mouser.com/Search/Refine.aspx?Ntt=690-E3G0603N-2
    Cheers
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I don't think that's it. You need a pot, not a switch.

    That has two positive stops both sides of center. You need a smooth continuous motion.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie Philb737's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the info Michael,
    I guess I have to make my own pot. I have an old joystick with few 10k pots that I can use to make the (MOM) CTR (MOM) encoder. I'll post my results.
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I am not too familiar with the rudder trim on the new NG's. Doesn't it use a trim knob just like the 727?

    You can still use a continuous-turn encoder, but I didn't think the rudder trim worked the same way as the elevator trim located on the yoke; momentary up/down.

    Once the trim knob is turned it stays there until you turn it back. Same with aileron trim.

    I still haven't worked on this in my sim and I even have the gear ruduction on the real trim knobs. So much to do and so little time.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie Philb737's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The old B737 had the cable and pulley mechanism, but the NG B737 trim knob works just like the Alirons trim with a switch.
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I see. Then it uses a similar momentary set-up just like the elevator trim switch?

    I guess you had the right switch after all. Sorry.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Phil

    The one to use is a rotary, spring loaded to make it return to center, with two momentary positions left and right of center.
    I managed to get two (Janco )
    ref 79-2257 9617.
    I can probably spare one but they were not exactly cheap! PM me.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here it is: about one inch max diameter. Aviation grade.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie Philb737's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thx Jack,
    Check your PM!
    IF it's not Boeing I ain't going!!!!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Rudder Trim - Does it physically move the center of the rudder?
    By Ronson2k9 in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-30-2010, 08:00 PM
  2. Rudder Trim Display panel
    By AchillesP in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2008, 09:11 AM
  3. Rudder Trim?
    By Pierre24 in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-14-2008, 04:17 AM
  4. Rudder trim offset
    By imported_Romek in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-11-2006, 01:45 AM