Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rheostat resistance and supply voltage

    The Grimes cockpit map light I bought is wired to the 12VDC buss only for convenience as I didn't have a 28VDC bulb to wire it to the 24VDC buss.

    My question is, because of the resistance of the rheostat used for the dimmer, is this causing the lamp to be dimmer on 12VDC than it would be on 24VDC? Seems to me it would.

    The lamp works fine, but I don't think it's as bright as it should be even when turned all the way up. I'm wondering if the rheostat has a higher resistance than would be required for a 12 volt circuit.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Is there any difference in brightness if you bypass the dimmer rheostat and just connect the light directly to 12V?

    Rgards,
    Henry

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes, but I haven't performed the same test at 24VDC.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Then I would tend to agree with your assumption.

    regards,
    Henry

  5. #5
    Heli Builder fweinrebe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Namibia
    Posts
    325
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The brightness is dependant on the wattage of the lamp. You could have a low wattage 12V bulb where the 24V might have a higher wattage and therefore appears brighter. A 24W 24V bulb draws exactly the same amount of current (1 Amp) as a 12W 12V bulb (P=V x I).

    Another factor is that when the rheostat is set to the maximum brightness, is there any resistance on the rheostat? Normally at the full setting it is 2 metal parts in contact with each other, so there should be no resistance.

    Try a higher wattage 12V lamp.
    Fritz -> Helicopter Cockpit Builder
    (FSX | TH2Go | Arduino | C# Avionics | CNC)

Similar Threads

  1. FSLCD - Battery voltage?
    By markusr in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-12-2009, 03:55 PM
  2. 737 voltage display
    By ivar hestnes in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-16-2009, 03:08 PM
  3. digit display voltage
    By Jackpilot in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-21-2009, 01:48 PM