Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Real 727/737 throttle conversion

    I am looking for input on converting my 727 throttle. There is approx. 7" total throw with reverse so I do not think a 100 mm slider will work at all. I have tried using the pulleys with a pot attached and while it does work, I don't think it is the best setup. So I'm looking to see what others did when the configured their real throttles. Thanks in advance.

    OBTW sting pots are too expenxive and out of my budget.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rodney,

    I own a 737 quad. And have been finding a good solution too. Unfortunately stringpots are the way. I know they are too expensive. But it is the easyest way for getting throttle + reverse on 1 single potmeter.
    I whas lucky to get one from Rob "737NUT", and must say that they work like a charm!
    The stringpots are made by Unimeasure. I found a supplier and they dont come cheap. est 185 usd each

    this is how i converted mine:

    throttle force: put a thin layer of rubber sheet under the old dust covers, by removing the plastic strips beneath them and replacing them with rubber.

    Throttles: 10inch stringpots from unimeasure 1Kohm

    flaps: 100mm slidepot

    speedbrake: 100mm slidepot + servo for automation

    trimindication: 1 servo

    trim wheels: i contacted simparts.de for a chain + chainwheel solution.

    park brake: going to use a micro switch with solenoid (type 25ET11 found on ebay)

    Good luck. Im working on this project for almost 1,5 years now.

    Mike

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    100mm slide pots will work. The linkage just needs to be figured.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the information Mike!

    I would only go string pots as an absolute last resort. Great thing is I work with with a group of electrical and mechanical enineers in a R&D company so I may just let them give me some direction too. What ever the outcome, i'l sure post it as I am sure I won't be the last to do this.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Carter View Post
    100mm slide pots will work. The linkage just needs to be figured.

    Mike,
    No linkage. There are cables for the throttles. The only linkage is on the spoiler and the parking brake which I think a slider will work on. Just haven't got there yet. I guess a picture would show it better. I'll post one tonight after work.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rodney,

    What the other Mike means is, you can drill a hole in de metal wheel of the throttle or in that plastic thing attatched to the wheel. To connect the linkage to your 100mm slide pot.

    Mike

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That's what I mean. I know what the guts of these older throttles look like.

    You'll need to figure out how far in from the circumference of the cable wheel to drill the hole for the linkage to the slide pot to get 100mm throw, and then decide where to mount it.

    If you can't get 100mm throw on the very outer circumference of the cable pulley, you could add a short arm to the edge of the wheel in a convenient location to increase the travel.

    Swivel ball joints and connecting rods are what I used to connect mine. Probably a little overkill for the stress it's under, but it'll never fail.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I think I can picture what you are saying. In order to do that I would need to completely disassemble the quad. I had not planned on doing that ........ yet.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You really should anyway just to clean out the 40 years of dirt, crud, and cobwebs if for nothing else.

    At the least, you'll understand how these throttles work and how they're built.

    As large as these pulleys are, you should have no trouble getting 100mm throw from full forward and aft movement of the throttle levers. Even if you can get only 85mm or 90mm, it's still better than 60mm.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    50
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Dear Rodney,

    here is the plan of what I want to do with my TQ. Instead of taking my TQ apart (I am afraid, I am a bit technically challenged, but still I am sure I will be able to finish the project in the end ) I will expand the cables / wires from the TQ and put them over a wheel / roll to whick I will attach a normal rotary pot. It's not my idea but I got the idea from Bernd Drefahl's site (with his sim it works) and I have drawn what I intend to do.
    I guess, this way of doing it should be technically least demanding and also least aggressive to the original parts (Mike, I know, you really love the 727 and it's parts, but I would not like to drill holes into any part if it can be avaoided ).
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. A real throttle anyone?
    By TobiBS in forum Airbus Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-29-2011, 11:05 AM
  2. OC real instruments conversion
    By edo17982 in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2010, 06:16 PM
  3. Conversion of Real equipment
    By jsfboat in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-23-2010, 01:18 PM
  4. Need a real 737 or Bus Jet throttle quad.
    By Simran737 in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 05:39 PM
  5. a tip for anyone using a real throttle quad,
    By steve diamond in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-08-2006, 12:31 PM