Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member


    flyboy01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    simkits gauge calibration

    Hi All,
    I am hoping someone can steer me in the right direction. I have 4 sim kits gauges and when i use the calibration software the gauge does not function properly. I have tried both approaches as per the instructions from simkits. The gauge i am trying to get working first is the flaps gauge

    1: set the 0% point and then the 100% point and then x out all other points for the flaps gauge.0% being 0 deg flap and 100% being 40 deg flap

    2: calibrated all the flap positions individually.

    when i use the first method only the 0 and 40 deg flap position allign to the correct position. all other positions are far off the mark.

    if i use the 2nd method the 0 and 40 deg positions work fine but when i select 1 deg flap the needle shows 5 deg and then when 2 deg is selected the neele returns to the 1 deg position and this happens for all positions. the needle goes all over the place.

    Has anyone else had this problem and if so how did you manage to resolve it?

    Any help much appreciated.

    trevor wimmer

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Trevor,

    When building the guages did you modify the servo and if so what sort of servo did you use.

    I know this sounds stupid but also ensure you have the latest software download from simkits and make sure you have the correct FSUIPC for the version of FS you are running.

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member


    flyboy01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    i have not modified my servos and am using the latest software from simkits. also using correct fsuipc for fs9.

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    USB or CCU versions?
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member


    flyboy01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    these gagues are the usb versions

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member DanGeorge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK (south)
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,
    Had a similar problem with my Simkits flap gauge - the instructions didn't seem to help at all...
    I email their tech support who immediately got back with the following solution:

    For the B737 for example, the position 0 = 0% and the full flaps are 40
    = 100%, so 10 are 25% and so on... When calibrating, you should assign
    0 to the field for the position 0 (0%), 25 to the field for the position
    10 (25%), 62.5 for 25 and so on...

    In the case of the 737 the flaps are:
    0 -> 0%
    1 -> 2.5%
    2 -> 5%
    5 -> 12.5 %
    10 -> 25%
    15 -> 37.5%
    25 -> 62.5%
    30 -> 75%
    40 -> 100%


    Not sure if you've tried this already, but it did the job in my case!
    Hope that helps,

    Dan
    Dan George

  7. Thanks flyboy01 thanked for this post
  8. #7
    75+ Posting Member


    flyboy01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up

    Thanks Dan
    This did the trick. I would like to know where they got the % from, as i tried doing this from the gauge face.
    I used 10 deg as 50 percent as it was half way between 0 deg and 40 deg. Obviously not the case. I am now wondering if these values are in the fsuipc offsets and in the pm systems files somewhere. I am actually attending a conference with Curt Roth, the developer of sim kits. This is on the 23 Dec in Sydney Australia. I will pose a few questions about this issue and the instructions and see what he says. I will post results when i get back in the new year.
    Thanks again for your help on this, as now it gives me something to play with and try figure out the other gauges.

    Merry christmas and happy new year to you
    Thanks to all who replied to this thread as well. It is much appreciated.

    Trev

  9. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If 40% is the max reading on your guage then that is 100% of the total travel of the flaps. So 10 would be one quarter of that hence 25%.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  10. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    16
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Project Magenta Diff Press Cabin Alt

    Does anyone how to calibrate the Diff Press and Cabin Alt, I'm using the latest pmsystems, I have tried many ways to calibrate them but no success, yet PMSystems seems to work, any ideas?

    Thanks

  11. #10
    75+ Posting Member


    flyboy01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,
    From what i am led to believe, This gauge does not work properly with pm systems. Not sure why, but i think i remember readind that it has not yet been fixed by simkits. i had one needle working at one stage but the second would not work
    but now cant get any of them to work
    cant even get the apu gauge to work.
    If you have the calibration % fo rthem would be greatful
    Trev

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. About the simkits gauge kit
    By themax222 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-29-2010, 10:49 AM
  2. looking for small simkits gauge
    By kermit in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-15-2010, 01:59 PM
  3. Simkits APU Gauge and PM
    By Joe Lavery in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-16-2010, 01:37 PM
  4. Calibration issues
    By Shawn in forum MyCockpit Support:
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-19-2009, 08:23 PM