Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member


    flyboy01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    USB DC Motors card

    Hi All,
    I have just finished building my throttle and have got my dc motors card. When i plug the card into the usb port and start the usbdcmotors softwre i see that it is recognised, However the instructions for the dc motors card does not say where to write the sioc file and if so how to link it to the sioc software. Any help on this issue would be helpfull as i am new to all the opencockpits io cards. do i need a master card to make this dc motors card work?

    Kind regards
    trevor

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    89
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Trevor,

    For the usb dc motors card first thing to do is to define this in sioc.ini file.

    Right under the lines where it stars with MASTER you will find some lines like;

    USBStepper 0,0
    USBRelays 0,0 and so on.

    I think the corret notofier is USBdcmotors but you have to check it.

    First 0 is the IDX number This should not be the same on two devices. Assume you use MCP and its IDX is shown as 1. This means no other device should be IDX 1.

    The second zero is the recognized device number in PC. You can fişnd this in the right window of SIOC once you connect the software.

    Once you do them right and saved your .ini file, next time you run SIOC the device IDX and the Device nuber should be visible with the correct explanation of the card.

    From there on depending on which socket you connected your dc motor you continue writing your script in sioc by definif input, outputs like akways.

    I hope this helps

    est Regards

    barkay

  3. Thanks flyboy01 thanked for this post
  4. #3
    75+ Posting Member


    flyboy01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks barkay,
    i will try this tonight when i get home from work. with any luck it will work. as yet i did not see any of these idx that you were talking about. can these be 2 digit numbers as all i see when i start the dc motors card is that it is recognised and port=45 that is the only numbers i see. but i will have a better attempt tonight.
    Thanks again
    Trevor

  5. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    89
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi trevor,

    Tha answer is no. When you lok at the right side of SIOC you see all of your connected cards there. Every line starts with IDX=x then the card name THEN THE DEVICE NUMBER you mentioned.

    Normally if you connect your card for the first time all you get is the device number and the IDX=*

    Therefore you need to go to sioc.ini add the necessary line and give an IDX number to each card. This is very improtant since you use this number when programming in SIOC.

    For example;

    Var 001, name trevor, Link IOCARD_SW, Device X, Input 3

    That X is your IDX number and you assign them.

    Best regards,

    barkay

  6. #5
    75+ Posting Member


    flyboy01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks again. I got the card idx ok now and have it recognised. Funny though, would not work on my main fs computer but had to put it on a computer with a master card connected. never mind though all good now. Just have to try figure out how to programme with sioc now.LOL and then my throttle will be all good i hope.
    Trev

  7. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    144
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That's great Trevor, I hope your script works well for you.
    Strange that your other PC did not recognise the card.

    Paul

  8. #7
    75+ Posting Member


    flyboy01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Paul,
    will be looking at trying a few things with the script over the next few days.will see you in a week or so when i get to Sydney.
    Trev

  9. #8
    75+ Posting Member


    flyboy01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Angry

    I have to open this thread again as i am still having problems.
    When i connect the usbDC_Motors card to the computer i am getting the following line appear in the sioc programme.

    IDX=1-IOCARDUSB_SERVOS-DEVICE=89

    Why is this being recognised as a servos card and not usb dc motor card????

    I have assigned the IDX and device to the USBDCMOTOR in the sioc.ini file
    as also these values to the analogue inputs

    also when i run the controllador programme, it shows 4 analogue inputs and not the 5 i assigned. They also show a value of 255 next to them but these values do not change when moving the Pot's. How do i check if they are working or not and how do i check the motors outputs are working??????

    Any thoughts and comments appreciated

    Trev

  10. #9
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    89
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Trev as far as I know there should be a seperate testing program in the downloads section for USB dc motors card. Because there is one for servos. That is the best way to test it. On the other hand what you say seems strange. Are you sure you got the right card? If absolutely yes then download this program and see if the card is working. Let us know

    rgds

    barkay

  11. #10
    75+ Posting Member


    flyboy01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    94
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I am fairly sure it is the right card as it was purchased from open cockpits as a built and tested card. and also looks the same as the picture on the instructions manual for usb motors card. and even has the same ic numbers.
    Will do a bit mor investigation into it when i return from christmas holidays.
    Trev

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. DC Motors Card - How to use in SIOC?
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-20-2017, 10:11 PM
  2. "Inner Circle" HSI - SIOC DC Motors Card Script
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 64
    Last Post: 04-21-2011, 11:59 AM
  3. DC Motors card Potentiometer values?
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 02:47 PM
  4. Using Opencockpits DC Motors card for Motion
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-09-2010, 02:46 PM
  5. Oops, did I just fry my PhidgetsHC motors card?
    By peterkwu in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 11:39 AM