Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing ILS suddenly dies in FSX

    Hi everyone,

    Could there be a bug in the PM-MCP software or in the handshake with FSX? I tried to be as specific and as detailed as possible.

    Use Case:

    While in final ILS-approach with the glide-slope bug almost in the middle, I push the APP button. Nine times out of ten the plane stays on the same altitude, while the glide-slope bug starts moving downwards. It looks as if FSX doesn't (always) get the message that it should follow the glide-slope. Several re-select attempts do not change the behavior of the plane in any way.

    Since only the APP button has this problem, and f.i. the VOR LOC never, I am thinking of a software- or handshake bug. The button lits and when we run the CPFlight test software, the button works 100% of the time, so I don't think it is a hardware issue.

    It happens (not always) on crowded airports with heavy scenery like EGLL and EHAM and on desolated ones like EHGG ILS RWY23.

    I tried to overrule by pushing Ctrl+A on the FSX-keyboard to see what happens, but since I have deleted all gauches in the config file, I am not surprised that FSX cannot handle the Ctrl+A. Perhaps it should, what might prove something.

    As I understood from a friend, who is a professional captain and instructor for KLM on the 737, when it comes to ILS following, the VOR LOC and APP buttons should always overrule any other signal or system when selected.

    I fly FSX with automatic generated weather. When in level flight, weather changes sometimes make the altimeter swing like mad. The autopilot and autothrottle do everything to correct the situation. My guess is, that when weather change happens during final approach, the APP button signal gets lost somewhere, because I hear and see the same kind of actions. Since I am on local QNH that should not happen, but it does. First I thought it had something to do with the scenery, so I started to test at EHGG ILS RWY23. Same problem. When I keep up the automatic real world weather generation the problem exists on every approach. When I switch to No weather-Clear sky's the bird follows the glide path like it should. So if I am right, and the problem does not come from another dark corner of all software, it seems that the APP button signal does not always triggers FSX to follow the glideslope. Since this never happens with the VOR LOC, which I used just before I click in APP, I think both signals follow different paths to FSX.

    Anyone familiar with this behaviour?


    My hard- and software configuration can be found on http://www.b737sim.nl/components.html


    Greetings,

    Benno
    "Ladies and Gentleman..., Captain"
    http://www.b737sim.nl

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Not sure about the PM problems, but it has been a pretty wild ride across Europe for the last few days. The pressure is constantly changing screwing with the altitude hold and the assigned altitude.

    One second I'm 300' below assigned and the next five seconds I'm 500 above.

    I've tried the pressure smoothing in FSUIPC but it doesn't work. It seems like FS is trying to get data from several WX sources at once and doesn't know which one to use.

    Irritating to say the least.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Helsinki - Finland
    Posts
    151
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Same here! Try reduce FPS to 20. Go to MCP.ini and check You have 80 in
    cycle of milliseconds. There is something in FSX and PM.
    Pm stuff says the software is ok. Problem can be a A/C model, but I doubt.
    I had this with different models.
    I hope a fix comes one day.

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Helsinki - Finland
    Posts
    151
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    ...also have You deleted all texts except view config
    lines from Your a/c panel.cfg?
    try other aircrafts also. When I had deleted fsx sp2 but
    kept sp1 some texts started to blink in exam screens?
    I suppose the install of rex did not made it?
    Never ending misery. I try to solve this g/s problem and
    if I cannot fix this I'll go for AST.

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Helsinki - Finland
    Posts
    151
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Updates in Pm site!!!

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks everyone for the replies!
    Seems that we're not alone with this problem...
    "Ladies and Gentleman..., Captain"
    http://www.b737sim.nl

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK / Germany
    Posts
    174
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi

    This problem only relates to FSX. It is known about but only seems to happen on some systems and only sometimes. This makes tracking and solving the problem difficult. It is an on-going issue and we hope to find the cause soon.

    Regards
    Jonathan Richardson
    Project Magenta
    Jonathan Richardson

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member David7700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Richmond, VA (USA)
    Posts
    19
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Did you try pushing APP well before the glideslope indicator descends toward the middle? It may just not be picking the glideslope up in time, which would cause you to continue at a level altitude. Since you cannot use APP on most APs when you are above the glideslope, try hitting APP before there is any deflection in the glideslope indicator at all. The aircraft should maintain level flight until the glideslope is captured in APP mode, which could be several minutes after localizer capture in APP mode.
    Last edited by David7700; 12-10-2008 at 12:03 PM. Reason: ctws
    David
    KRIC-KFCI
    www.fs-mp.com

  9. Thanks Flying_Dutchman thanked for this post
  10. #9
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Helsinki - Finland
    Posts
    151
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'll give it a try tonight! Thanks for an advice.
    I wonder what are those critical commands or acts that has to be
    Performed before locking to the g/s path?

  11. #10
    10+ Posting Member David7700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Richmond, VA (USA)
    Posts
    19
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by mmakela View Post
    I wonder what are those critical commands or acts that has to be Performed before locking to the g/s path?
    I am not sure I understand the question--are you talking about checklist items? If so, I am not sure for your particular aircraft. For light GA aircraft, use CGUMPS:

    Carb heat (if applicable--normally aspirated engine)
    Gas (fuel--fullest tank, etc.)
    Undercarriage (landing gear down)
    Mixture rich
    Power, props, pumps
    Seatbelts, safety, switches (lights, pitot heat, etc.)
    David
    KRIC-KFCI
    www.fs-mp.com

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. OC relay card suddenly behaves strange.
    By crashdog in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2010, 11:29 AM
  2. 777 Pilot Dies In Flight
    By AlexJ in forum Let's talk about what is in the NEWS
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 02:42 PM
  3. Trim indicaor suddenly gone
    By FlightsimBerlin in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2009, 09:46 PM