Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 7 Segment LEDs

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    7 Segment LEDs

    Hi everyone.
    I'm fairly new to this so please bear with me.
    I'm making an MCP and radio panels.
    Unfortunately, everything has to be on a budget so I have to shop carefully.
    I have a BU0836X for the encoders and buttons, so there's no problem ther.
    What I need to know is, what would be the easiest and cheapest way to have 7 segment LEDs in my panels?
    I know that's probably like saying Coke or Pepsi, but I just wondered if there was a sort of entry level card type of thing.
    I live in the UK, if that makes a huge difference with shipping.

    Thanks in advance for any help.

    Colaboy.

  2. #2
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Colaboy,

    If your on a budget you can't go past Opencockpits gear. And if your handy you can save even more by buying the cards in kit-form and assembling yourself. They are also in Spain, so not really far from you.

    If you use their gear this is what you'll need:

    1. Master Card (all modules connect to this card) - 24Euro(Kit) / 54Euro(pre-built)
    2. Display Card (one card will run up to 16 x 7 segment displays and you can connect up to 4 display cards onto one Master Card) - 26Euro(Kit) / 32Euro(pre-built)

    3. You'll need common cathode 7 segment displays.

    The Master Card also has 72 inputs for switches and rotary encoders & 48 outputs to drive LED's. You can connect this to a parallel port or purchase the USB Expansion card which simplifies connection and allows you to connect up to 4 Master Cards to it. However it will set you back another 26Euro(Kit) / 37Euro(pre-built).

    Shipping costs will need to be added to the above of course. Check them out.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  3. Thanks colaboy thanked for this post
  4. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Ken.
    Thanks for the info, that's fantastic.
    It looks like I could probably sort all my displays out for about 100.
    That sounds pretty cool!
    Thanks again Ken, really appreciate the help.

    Kind regards.
    Colaboy.

  5. #4
    75+ Posting Member HansJansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nuenen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    84
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Colaboy,

    I would definitively include the USB Expansion card in your order! Not only does the parallel port give all kinds of trouble with the Master card (each computer type seems to implement it differently), but on many modern computers there is no parallel port anymore. With the USB expander I have never had a single problem, and indeed you can connect up o 4 (four) master cards to it.

    Good luck,
    Hans

  6. Thanks colaboy thanked for this post
  7. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Hans, thanks for the info.
    I've never used the parellel port and don't intend to start now.
    Seems too much like hard work to me.
    Also, my computer doesn't have one anyway, so I would have to buy an adapter or PCI card anyway.

    Thanks again Hans.

    Colaboy.

  8. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Stafford, UK
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Colaboy.

    I live in the UK (Stafford) and use OpenCockpits stuff exclusively. If you are a confident solderer then use the kits. I only buy the completed ones now after I ruined about 60 of kit. Plus the completed ones come tested so you know they work. I have just completed my whole MCP (for the 767) using these.

    I have the USB expansion, master cards and display cards. I put together a throttle for a friend that used the USB DC Motors card. Each of the cards is excellent value for money and I have had no probs.

    They always deliver within about 3-4 working days. But I recommend the DHL delivery option.

    Plus if you need a logic language for any overhead functions that flight sim doesnt provide you can use the SIOC language on the cards. Works great!

    What AC are you building?

  9. Thanks NigelD, colaboy thanked for this post
  10. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Tom, thanks for the info.
    I'm building a 737NG of sorts.
    Because of budget, it's going to be a main panel, throttle quadrant, radio panels and basic overhead.
    The layout won't look much like a 737 but I would like the individual parts to look as real as possible.
    I'm pretty handy with MDF and bits of metal, so the fabricating shouldn't be a problem.
    It's the interface and software side that I find a steep learning curve but i'm very keen to learn.

    Thanks.
    Colaboy.

Similar Threads

  1. USB 7 SEGMENT DISPLAY
    By AlexJ in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-10-2011, 06:40 AM
  2. 7 Segment Display Help.
    By AlexJ in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-17-2010, 01:02 PM
  3. 737 MCP 7-Segment LED size
    By ifeltsweet in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2010, 06:36 AM
  4. 7 segment display
    By bindook in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 07:25 PM
  5. Seven Segment LED's
    By Nav Lt in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-21-2007, 03:25 PM