Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ch products rudder pedals conversion?

    Hello,

    i havent got any rudder pedals yet due to lack of funds, but my friend has some CH PRODUCTS RUDDER PEDALS for sale for a 10, theres nothing wrong with them apart from 1 thing, they are the old type that was designed for gameport and supports only win 95 (maybe 98, 2000 and ME) but they do not support XP, is there anything you can do to get these working with XP, im thinking of wiring it to Leos card but doesnt want to if i really dont have to.

    Any ideas how to get this working with xp?

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Get a Gameport to USB adapter. You can find them online. But hooking them up to Leo's card will give you better results in the long run.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  3. #3
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the reply Andy!

    1) As its designed for win95 will xp even recognise the controller?

    2) Will it be easy to adapt to leo's card (talking about the BU0836)

    3)Any advice converting it?

    Cheers!

    AP08

  4. #4
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Alex,

    You don't really need to connect it to Leo's card. Just get a Gameport to USB adaptor as Andy said and run the unit using it's own controller. Rudder pedals are just 3 axis, 1 for rudder and two for differential toe brakes. The old gameport has a max of 4 axis I think, so the pedals should work fine out of the box. And yes XP should recognise it no problem.

    If you really want to convert it to Leo's card, disconnect the 3 wires from the 3 pots, keeping record of which is +ve, which is -ve and which is Ground (Earth). Then connect them to the relevant terminals on Leo's card. There's a +5V rail, a gnd rail and then 6 separate axis outputs. Connect yours to 3 of these and fire up Leo's card. It will only activate the axis that have a connection to it. Configure them in windows then assign them in FS.

    Good luck,

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  5. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  6. #5
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Ken

    Hi Ken, Thanks for the reply!


    Your right about maybe not going down the BU0836 path as i could use the
    inputs on the card maybe for something else as an when my cockpit grows.


    I already have a CH-PRODUCTS Virtual Pilot Pro Gameport yoke, in which i just connected to a cheap Ensonique PCI sound card that had a gameport connector, i just simply connected it to the card, calibrated it in control panel and away i went with no problems, and i didnt even need any special drivers or software with it which was handy as i bought it without discs,


    now, the rudder pedals are attatched to a MALE gameport connector (to plug in to your card), that male connector also has a FEMALE gameport connector wired to it and another MALE gameport connector, im not too sure what the 2 additional gameport connectors are for, but would i be right to say that i will be able to plug the flight yoke into the FEMALE port of the rudder pedals and then plug the rudder pedals into the gameport on my pc?


    Its as if the pedals have a M/F splitter attached, it must be so you can attach your yoke, why else would they do this, back in the day when there was no USB, im sure people needed to connect both yoke AND pedals to their gameport adapters.


    YOKE -> PEDALS -> PC


    Anyway please tell me if i'm wrong.


    Cheers Ken


    Alex AP08

  7. #6
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Alex, I'm not sure whether that would work as a single gameport only allows a maximum of 4 axis and 8 buttons (I think). Unless CH have some sort of intelligence built it to increase it. I have an old CH gameport Pro throttle that also has this Male/Female Y-cord type connector, but I've never used it as none of my PC's have gameport connectors anymore. All I can say is try it and see, you might be lucky. Otherwise the Gameport to USB converter will allow you to use all these devices although you'll need speparate converters for each device.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  8. #7
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ok cheers ken!

    By the way sorry to sound abit dumb (new to sim tech!) what do you mean by seperate converters?

    Thanks

    Alex

    AP08

  9. #8
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I mean you will need a separate Gameport to USB converter for each device. i.e. 1 for the pedals and 1 for the yoke.

    And the only dumb questions are the ones you don't ask.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  10. #9
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cheers Ken,

    Im sure it wont be too long before the next question lol !

    All the best,

    Alex



    AP08

Similar Threads

  1. 737 Rudder Pedals
    By ian@737ng.co.uk in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 05:39 PM
  2. Boeing rudder pedal conversion
    By jsfboat in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-18-2010, 10:48 AM
  3. Rudder Pedals
    By coppermasonry in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2009, 06:51 PM
  4. 737 Rudder Pedals
    By colaboy in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-18-2008, 10:24 AM