Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    156
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Slider pot travel

    Hi all

    I am going to use Leo Bodnar’s control board along with slider pots connected to my aircraft controls.
    If I use slider pots and connect those to my cyclic rods, if my cyclic moves the full distance but only moves the slider pot part of the distance forward and back am I able to get the full movement in the joystick software even if the pot does not move the full distance

    Cheers

    Rhys

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I would think that the software only sees the movement as a start and stop - min/max. This might help too. http://sound.westhost.com/pots.htm
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by nosecone View Post
    Hi all

    I am going to use Leo Bodnarís control board along with slider pots connected to my aircraft controls.
    If I use slider pots and connect those to my cyclic rods, if my cyclic moves the full distance but only moves the slider pot part of the distance forward and back am I able to can get the full movement in the joystick software even if the pot does not move the full distance

    Cheers

    Rhys
    I would suggest that you calibrate these slider pots in FSUIPC. Once you do that and you set the MIN, and the MAX, it will make no difference if the slide pot travels 1/4 of the way or the full deflection. min is min and max is (the max distance you can move it) full stop.

    So no worries.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    156
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks guys, just the info I wanted

    Cheers

    Rhys

Similar Threads

  1. UK Air Travel Fall To All Time Low!
    By AlexJ in forum General Aircraft Operations and News Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-10-2009, 08:53 AM
  2. Throttle travel
    By Jake 747 400 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2009, 12:31 PM
  3. Throttle Travel
    By Crescent in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-28-2009, 08:16 AM
  4. servos and slider pots.
    By booah in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-27-2009, 02:05 AM
  5. 50k Ohm Slider Pot
    By nosecone in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-28-2008, 07:59 PM