Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing 737 Throttle to choose?

    Hello,

    i'm new here and i found many useful information from all of you Thanks a lot!!

    I need your help, to help me choose a 737throttle. I found 3 companies in Europe, making throttles, Cockpitsonic, FSC anf Simarts. All of them have motorized thottles, but all of them have some issues with different aircrafts and Project Magenta's sw, or problems with i/o cards.

    What do you suggest, to choose? Have you already one of them?

    Please advice!!

    regards

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    A real one if you can find it.

    You can modify it yourself, but there is a company that will do it for you too.

    Soryy, I forgot the name of the company.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for replies,

    but this is not a solution cost effective for Europe

    Any one else ?

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Not trying to be a smart ***,

    But there is no 'cost effective' solution.

    quality has its price.

    if you want a throttle for home use, thats not going to be abused by real pilots, then the by you mentioned throttles will do.

    If you want a high grade throttle that can stand some serious abuse, you have to be prepared to fork out some dollars more.

    NFS converts real throttles and does a good job at that. well worth every dollar.

    Stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    In addition to modifying it yourself you will be able to choose your own interface and you will know the modifications will be performed correctly. In addition, you can choose your own electronic components to use for the modification.

    737NG throttles are almost unheard of on the open market, but 737-200 throttles are not. They surface every now and again on e-Bay and on some surplus sites. They can be modded to NG spec.

    They are a bitch to remove from the aircraft intact and some of the expense of the throttle is the six busted knuckles and 10 lbs of bodily fluids lost in retrieving a throttle from a scrapped aircraft. They have little scrap value as a big hunk of aluminum. $200US at most. Their value lies in the fact that 737 builders want them. The higher the demand, the higher the price will be paid to own one.

    For some strange reason 727 throttles sell for less, but still very high prices approaching or exceeding $1200 on occasion. I still know fewer than five people building a 727 simulator so I have no explanation for that. Unless they're all holding out for me... Keep waiting boys, you won't get me to pay those prices.

    I built my own.

    I refuse to pay those prices for something I can build myself. And it's just as durable and stout as the Boeing throttle. 1/8" Aluminum, 1/2" MFD, some steel where needed, stainless steel screws where needed, etc. No plastic anywhere except for the real Korry light caps. I haven't dropped anything that weight more than a pound or two on it yet, and it survived unscathed. Mostly unlanyared screwdrivers, wrenches, sockets or something similar I forgot to attatch to myself before climbing the step stool to get at the overhead electronics.

    Would I like to have one? Sure. If I could buy one for what it's value to me is worth. That's not likely; the sellers think the builders have a higher worth for a throttle so they command higher prices, and they're right. Not this builder.

    For what companies charge for a replica you can nearly buy a real throttle (IF you can find it) and modify it yourself. It's not rocket science and it's only a mechanical device.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey There,

    So you are aware, the only functions on the FSC throttle that do not work with Project magenta are the Autopilot Disconnect switches and ToGA Buttons. These can easily be placed onto a cheap joystick card.

    Other then that, works great with Project Magenta.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Henderson, NV
    Posts
    98
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Trevor Hale View Post
    Hey There,

    So you are aware, the only functions on the FSC throttle that do not work with Project magenta are the Autopilot Disconnect switches and ToGA Buttons. These can easily be placed onto a cheap joystick card.

    Other then that, works great with Project Magenta.

    Trev
    Sorry to bring up an old thread, but I understand that the FSC throttle has to be used in the 'always on' mode with Project Magenta. Is that still the case even with updated drivers and PM software? The general consensus online seems to be that the unit is fairly awkward (i.e. the throttle levers are difficult to move) in 'always on' mode.

    Thanks for any insight anyone can offer!

Similar Threads

  1. which 737 overhead to choose?
    By dion73 in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 08-24-2011, 02:23 PM
  2. Help me to choose first panel to build
    By naverre in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-10-2010, 11:10 PM
  3. 3 projectors model help to choose one
    By Kareem Hizam in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-19-2009, 04:40 PM
  4. What to choose?
    By Salud in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-20-2007, 10:15 AM
  5. Tablet PC vs. Laptop: How Do You Choose?
    By MS Expert Zone RSS Feed in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 11:30 AM