Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Easy toggle switch question

    I should really just wire one up and find out the answer for myself but... I'm searching Ebay for some toggle switches and I was wondering if a SPST switch could be used to operate something like the landing gear? I know it would work to raise the gear but would you then have to flip the switch down and then back up again to lower the gear? I'm thinking that I would need a SPDT switch but I wanted to check and find out for sure first.

  2. #2
    It depends on what interface you are using. A spdt switch will work fine as long as the interface sees a signal for each poition of the switch. I know this was a problem with earlier interfaces but should be better now that the software programs have been greatly improved.

    Gary

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    hi shawn.....

    easiest solution is use a spst switch attached to any joystick controller card (like the BU0836X) and in the FSUIPC Buttons and switches menu assign 'when button pressed' gear down and 'when button released' gear up. one switch - two actions.... easy peasy....
    good luck captain and regards from wales.... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  4. Thanks Shawn thanked for this post
  5. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks guys, I appreciate the help. I have both the BU0836X and a registered version of FSUIPC but I'm brand new to this stuff. I didn't want to order a bunch of switches only to find out they won't work. I had it in my head that I would need to use a SPDT switch but I had forgotten about the ability to assign a function when a button is released. Thanks again

  6. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Shawn,

    For some applications a simple OFF-ON-OFF toggle will act like a momentary when you flick it all the way through the ON position. Just have to keep it in sync with the sim so that the "fake" up and down positions remain so.
    JP
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

Similar Threads

  1. Gps/nav1 toggle switch
    By renegade in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 10 (FSX)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 12:51 PM
  2. Interfacing on-on toggle switch
    By marcus_422 in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-17-2010, 03:29 PM
  3. My quick & easy Korry Switch
    By Polmer in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-15-2009, 08:49 PM
  4. Easy or difficult - swapping a switch?
    By David Rogers in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-14-2007, 08:35 PM