Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Luxembourg
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question regarding connection of psone screen

    hello dear friends

    i would like to connect my psone screen to my 8800gts but i am stuck as to which cable i have to buy for this.

    can somebody please explain me what cables i need to buy, and also, maybe any reference links for them (ebay??)

    many thanks for your help

    ttyl

    Marc
    www.b747-400.com
    Marc

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Easy to do

    First take a look at FDS tutorial here : http://www.flightdecksolutions.com/_...torials/31.zip
    Is the best tutorial for that you asking for.
    You can also see there, how to remove the TFT monitor from plastic case, without damage it. I had connected my psone with an RCA cable with my VGA's TVout.


    Another approach is here http://www.bit-tech.net/modding/2004/07/07/psone_lcd/1 but never tested.


    Good luck

    Eddie

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Check the attached screenshot to see what kind of cable you need to find in a local electronics shop.

    Enjoy !!

    Eddie
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    144
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I used the FDS method on my PSOne screen and it works great.

    Paul

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Luxembourg
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    many many thanks

    i am off to the shop on monday to see if they got what i need

    i ll let you know

    marc
    Marc

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Connection to 9800GT Video Card

    I am looking at picking up a PS One to use as a GPS screen. I have a nVidia 9800 GT video card with dual DVI plus one s video outputs. I have 2 monitors already plugged into the the DVI outputs.

    Can I use the s video output to connect the PS One to? The video card came with a short cable with one jack to connect to the s video output and the other end is 3 female R-B-G jacks. Could I purchase another cable with a mini AV jack on end to connect to the PS One and 3 male R-G-B jacks on the other end? Woudl prefer this type of connection to the hacks described in the links.

    If this cabling scenario works, once I hook up the PS One will the video card automatically detect it as a third "monitor" to which I can drag an undocked GPS window?

    I have been lurking for a few months as I start to plan my build and this is my first step.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Georgetown, Texas
    Posts
    44
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here is a picture of my Garmin 530 using a PSOne screen. It is connected via composite video. I removed the bezels from the stock fs9gps.cab file.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Dave,

    That is exactly where I hope to end up with this first project. However first steps first. I will be happy if I can get the undocked window of a 530 on the PS One LCD and use the mouse to work with it.


    You say "It is connected via composite video". To this newbie can you please expand on that. Do you have one cable with a mini AV jack to connect to the PS One and an s video jack to connect to you video card? Or do you have two cables with some sort of adapter joining them together? Do you use a separate video card for this or is it connected to a card which also is used for other monitor(s)?

    Thanks for any help you can provide.

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Georgetown, Texas
    Posts
    44
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Colt45

    Yes I am using the cable you suggested. I use one video card. A NVIDIA 8600GT equivalent. It has two DVI and one S -Video/composite outputs. The card came with an adapter from S-Video to composite. (see attached picture of the monitor arraignment)

    I think you will find the display to small to see detail if you keep the bezel on and use the mouse for control. If you have FSUIPC you may want to use the GPS without the bezel (I will send you the CAB file if you want it) and program the keyboard to control the GPS.

    Dave
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    DaveC3,

    Thanks for the feedback. I will start tracking down the 3.5 mm(mini) AV jack to RCA jack cable. I believe a standard cable used to connect camcorders to TV's will work. This can then be connected to the breakout cable that came with the video card. Mine is a NVidia 9800 which is very similar to the 8600 you have. Do you have 2 monitors plus the PS One all connected to your 8600 at the same time? I have asked others in a hardware forum and they suggest this can't be done.

    I will take you up on your offer for the modified CAB file. OK if I contact you via a PM here? I also would like to discuss your final configuration complete with operating buttons when I get that far. Again if it's OK with you.

    Thanks again, Dave

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need Herlp with PSOne LCD screen
    By colt45 in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 07:09 AM
  2. Another LCD screen question
    By Michael Carter in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-12-2007, 12:04 PM
  3. A question LCD touch screen
    By visualchaosfx in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-05-2007, 03:29 AM
  4. CDU PSONE VGA
    By ENRIQUE HERNANDEZ in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 10:24 AM
  5. USB Joystick Connection..........question
    By brianwilliamson in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2006, 08:40 PM