Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm not spending $100 on a rotary switch...

    Hello everybody. I need a rudder trim knob, but the cockpitsonic one costs over $100, and it just comes with that and a parking break!

    I'm not too good in the electrical field, so I would like the closest to 'plug and play' that is possible.

    All I'm looking for is a small rotary knob.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If you know the specs of it, check Mouser.com and you should be able to find a very inexpensive one.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    150
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Does Mouser have a distribution center in Switzerland?

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Which rotary switch you are looking for?

    Thanks,

    Manolo

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    He could always try Conrad or Distrelec. Having lived in Switzerland, those two companies have proved useful in getting parts for the sim, especially if you know French or German.

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If for the 737, it is not a standard rotary
    The knob turns about 20-30 degrees either way left or right and self-centers.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    82
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If you have the space you could make something with a couple of springs and some micro switches?

    Skywatch

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member jonnydaz53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    south east , uk
    Posts
    81
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    i have been thinking about your couple of springs and mirco switches idea interfacing with the bu0836x card i like the idea and think i could work but any thoughts on how i could show the rudder postion using the leds show the 0 through to15 degree on both sides.?

    would i need a little circuit or something

    regards john d

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    82
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well, you could either use a potentiometer as the main spindle for the whole switch and take that off to an input card to process and then have various outputs leds triggered at certain voltages. If this isn't working you could always gear the shaft to a pot to get more resolution.

    Come to think of it a dual pot might also work, one track for the leds and the other for the input instead of switches.....something along the lines of the flaps pot in fsuipc?

    I don't see any real problem doing this, I have a bu0836X and have been thinking along these lines for the parking brake and tiller, that's why I mentioned it here.

    Hope this helps and please put up a photo if you get it all to work!

    Skywatch

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    82
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    John,

    You could even use one of those 'bar graph' driver chips....the ones that are used to drive the volume indicators in some audio devices. Then the dual pot could use the second track to drive the display chip as it's only measuring the input voltage and using that to decide which leds to light.....Just a thought!

    Also, if you are after small springs for this I got a big box full at Maplin for 2.99 - not bad for 150 assorted springs!

    Skywatch

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Rotary Switch As A Pot
    By ian@737ng.co.uk in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 01:44 AM
  2. 12 volt rotary on off switch?
    By Drewsta in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-04-2010, 12:42 AM
  3. Rotary switch as encoder
    By edo17982 in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 03:50 PM
  4. What to look for in a rotary switch
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-15-2010, 09:48 AM
  5. Rotary Switch for GA Starter
    By colt45 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-13-2009, 05:40 PM