Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Matrox Triplehead2Go and texture tearing

    I recently installed a Matrox Triplehead2Go and three 19" monitors for my forward visuals, I also have a 4th monitor displaying the 90 degree right view and two more monitors displaying guages. After installing the Triplehead I have noticed that terrain textures are now loading much slower/popping. With the fps set to unlimited I am staying steady at over 100 fps so it doesn't seem to be an issue of things just running slowly (this also happens when I have only the monitor attached to the Triplehead running). Has anyone else experienced this slow down of texture loading? I quite familiar with tweaking Fs9 and have all the usual tweaks installed on this computer. I am also experiencing some texture tearing when I am turning close to buildings or very close to terrain. When I enable VerticalSinc my right hand view (which shows the engine nacelle and wing tip) gets distorted, I think I can fix that though by using a 2D cockpit view instead of the 3D.

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    A TH2Go WILL slow down your sim. Its making it create a screen 3 times what it was. That takes more compute power and so I advise reducing your frames and locking them at 25. Your eye will never know the difference and that will give the machine time to catch up and get everything drawn faster.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Andy, I tried locking my frames at 20 to see if it would help but all it did was give me the sutters Normally I have my frames locked at 55. Personally, I can see a difference when my frames are locked at 25. It's a bit of a myth that the eye can't recognize frame rates faster than 25, this only applies to images that have been blurred to trick the eye, like what's done in motion pictures. Flight simulator displays each individual frame without any motion blur which is why screenshots turn out so crisp. This explains it better than I can...http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motion_blur

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Then try locking them at 30 or 35. The fewer screens you need the faster they draw.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I didnt have the same experience as Andy as I have the TripleHead2Go and it didnt slow mine down a bit. The TH2Go does take more to draw everything but it has its own GPU and resources to bring to bear to make up for it. My experience was that adding the other monitors on my extra DVI outputs of the graphics cards are what slows everything down. I think you would find that the performance would be similiar if you remove the TH2Go and just connect one of your 19" monitors. But take some monitors off the Graphics cards and you will see improvement. I tried using an 8800gt and a 7900gt in the same box and then attaching monitors to each of the 4 outputs. After I added the 3rd monitor things when south. I ended up sticking with just the 8800gt then hookiing TH2GO on one output with 3 22" monitors and put a 17" monitor oon the other 8800gt output. Performance is great.

  6. Thanks AndyT thanked for this post
  7. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by XOrionFE View Post
    The TH2Go does take more to draw everything but it has its own GPU and resources to bring to bear to make up for it.
    Where did you get that information? I never heard that. Does it apply to the analog version as well? Do you have the digital version?
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  8. #7
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks again for the replies gentlemen, I managed to fix my issue by enabling VSinc and setting my fps to 60 which is the max refresh rate of my monitors while using the triplehead. My textures still aren't loading as fast as I like but I'll keep adjusting my settings and I'm sure it will get worked out. I have to say the triplehead is a great bit of kit and having the 4th outside view is really nice.

  9. #8
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by AndyT View Post
    Where did you get that information? I never heard that. Does it apply to the analog version as well? Do you have the digital version?
    I am sure I read that it does somewhere but cant remember where. I have the digitial version.

  10. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    As far as I know it does not have its own GPU. I sure wish it did!
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  11. #10
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by AndyT View Post
    As far as I know it does not have its own GPU. I sure wish it did!
    I will have to find it. It has some type of processor for sure. It is not a $300 fancy Y connector. It has to have processing power.

    I will locate

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. ATI 5870 vs Matrox TripleHead2go?
    By roxiedog13 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 03:19 PM
  2. triplehead2go
    By Mr. Midnight in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-04-2009, 10:00 AM
  3. Graphics Card & Matrox TripleHead2Go
    By mwcovey in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-03-2007, 11:02 PM
  4. Having Trouble with Matrox TripleHead2Go Digital
    By mwcovey in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-30-2007, 03:08 PM
  5. Triplehead2go
    By sas550 in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-29-2007, 11:41 AM