Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie


    388TH_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Medford, Oregon (USA)
    Posts
    246
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FSBUS Com PCB 5V Power Supply

    Does any body know if i can hook up a usb cable to the board instead of a power supply use only the Gnd and 5V power off of it? Because that would be so much easier for me to do...

  2. #2
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    I have taken +5V from computers powersupply (inside computer) there are 4 pin powercable same type as you use older hard drive.

    There are 2 pin in the middle of 4 are BLACK as ground, RED +5V and YELLOW +12V.

    I have used that red and black for FSBUS NG com board. Use electronic multimeter to measure those before you connect. MAKE SURE that you use that +5V RED.
    Otherwise you will see some SMOKE.....

    I dont know but i think that from USB you cant get enough current.... maybe im wrong.

  3. Thanks 388TH_A thanked for this post
  4. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    USB probably does not have enough current for your board. Take the power from the power supply.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  5. Thanks 388TH_A thanked for this post
  6. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie


    388TH_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Medford, Oregon (USA)
    Posts
    246
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Alright thanks i didnt even think about the computer power supply. i guess i could use a old power supply and have it running on the side.

Similar Threads

  1. PC power supply to power Phidgets LED 64
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 04:21 PM
  2. 12V power supply
    By Jackpilot in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-24-2009, 03:45 AM
  3. PC Power Supply Conversion
    By AndyT in forum Cockpit Building Tutorials
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-24-2008, 10:07 PM
  4. PC power Supply
    By BlackWidow in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-25-2007, 11:50 PM
  5. Power Supply
    By Tim in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-28-2007, 09:13 AM