Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Question Intel Core i7 as CPU platform? + dual PCIe 2.0 VGAs?

Hi

Need some advise before I take the final decision building my main PC for the simulator project.

Initially I have been preparring and building a 737-700 full scale sim, since december 2007 (mostly as DIY) - major parts now installed and working.

The setup basics:
    SW: FSX
    737 systems: PM
    HW: some Plug'n'play others DIY
    Visuals: 3 projektors for Front, Left and Right views
    1 PC for FSX (Front view)
    1 PC for FSX left and rifth view using WideView

The setup as this are tested tweaked, OC etc, but there to much stuttering and lacking - rigth and left views are 0,3 - 0,5 sec after main view
    (info: Front PC is based on Intel LGA775 3,8 GHz - 3GB Ram VGA card PCIe 1.0 ATI 256Mb, Left and Right PC is a Intel LGA 2,9 Ghz - 1,5 GB ram, VGA Card as above). I am using 1Gb network (for general network) and 100Mb (for IPX protocol used for WideView) as well.

More to add to the negative about the setup, using wideView giving odd clouds jumping from left to rigth view, and airplane shadows, airplane landing lights etc. are not shown

So what to do?

Been thinking (and counting moneys ), would the new technology in CPUs, VGAs etc do the work?

Would the new Intel i7 CPU (2,9 GHz), together with a mainboard ei. ASUS P6T Deluxe, 3GB ram, 2 ASUS 9600 (NVidia) 1Gb, with SLi, and XP 32bit, be able to run the FSX (including what to think about af additionals, ie. PMDG new 737FSX, additional scenerys etc.) and all the performance slides to the top (or at least approx. giving 25 - 30 FPS with the most to the top), in 3 views?

Ohh, one more, which VGA technology is to prefer NVidia or ATi? And will Sli or Crossfire do some performance help to FSX? Why?

Thanks in advance

BR

Kjeld

Quote Originally Posted by kni-dk View Post
    Hi