Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Using GF hardware to control FSUIPC function

    Guys, I know it's possible to have a GoFlight switch control an FSUIPC function but I cant remember the program name or a keyword to search for here in the forum.

    My issue is 2 fold:

    1) I need to have a GF switch to enable a function that's not listed in the GF config software and need to know how to have it connect and be read by FSUIPC,

    2) I need to know what the offset is called for switching Nav sources between FMS (which is the FS9 GPS) and NAV.

    thanks
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Eric
    Was just working on that this morning... Could be like that:call the FSUIPC menu and the switch button tab.
    When you press the GF button it shows Joystick XXX button XX from there you can choose an action in the FSUIPC scrolling list....
    So far it did not work but I just tried once this morning....Keep me posted
    I would like to emulate ADF2 which does not seem possible in the GF config.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Eric
    Is it GFDisplay.zip? To be found in FSUIPC website
    Bill

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackpilot View Post
    Was just working on that this morning... Could be like that:call the FSUIPC menu and the switch button tab.
    When you press the GF button it shows Joystick XXX button XX from there you can choose an action in the FSUIPC scrolling list....
    So far it did not work ..
    It works fine, just like any other joystick connections, but FSUIPC needs access to the GoFlight third party driver (GFDev.DLL), which is normally installed with the GF software, but may not be. There are versions of it on my Support Forum.

    Pete

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    150
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Don't you also have to put the GFxxx.dll in the Modules folder where FSUIPC is located?

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Holclo View Post
    Is it GFDisplay.zip? To be found in FSUIPC website
    No, GFDisplay is a way of programming the LEDs and displays on the assorted GF units, but it has nothing to do with buttons, switches and dials. They are handled by FSUIPC and WideClient directly using the GF third-party driver, GFDev.DLL.

    Pete

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by N242AM View Post
    Don't you also have to put the GFxxx.dll in the Modules folder where FSUIPC is located?
    GFDev.dll.

    Yes, that would work, though if the GF software is correctly installed, FSUIPC is normally able to find the installed GFDev.DLL via the registry pointers. Maybe GF changed the installation methods recently, I don't know. I don't use any GF devices these days.

    For WideFs use, GFDev.dll can go into the WideClient folder.

    There are versions of GFDev.dll on my Support Forum.

    Pete

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    (Peter posted before I could put my own solution- thanks Peter)

    Thanks guys. I just found a simple solution for my particular issue.

    My answer to question 1 is still unanswered by myself, although I believe that Holclo might have answered it partially.

    My answer to question 2 is the name of the function that switches between the GPS and NAV as nav sources in FS is called 'Nav/GPS On' if I remember correctly from an hour or so ago.

    My particular need was to have a GF switch to switch between the NAV/FMS (actually the GPS in FS9) on the EFIS panel of the Friendly Panels LJ45 package. The GF config software allows you to choose a Key Combination function to control an aspect of the sim if your action is not in the GF config list of options. I went in to FS under the Control tab. I noticed 'NAV/GPS On' function and took a stab. Turns out it was the function I needed to control and I just created a key combination and then went into the GF config software and put it in there. Voila, it works great now.
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  9. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Dowson View Post
    GFDev.dll.

    Yes, that would work, though if the GF software is correctly installed, FSUIPC is normally able to find the installed GFDev.DLL via the registry pointers. Maybe GF changed the installation methods recently, I don't know.

    Pete
    I wonder if this could be an issue, since I too have tried what Jackpilot said- I have opened up FSUIPC within FS9 before, pressed a GF button, and didnt notice it picking up on the motion under the proper tab within FSUIPC. I thought I was doing something wrong since FSUIPC picks up on other hardware attached. I will go and look for the install location as mentioned above.
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    150
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    To question 1, couldn't you use the FSUIPC Mouse Macro function?

    I'm guessing the panel has a mouse hot spot for that button. Assign the hot spot a keyboard command with Mouse Macro, then assign the keyboard command to a GF button press.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. test all function
    By ANDYSMITH in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-10-2010, 09:59 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-25-2008, 10:36 AM
  3. Can this function be done in FS2Phidgets?
    By Tomlin in forum FS2Phidget Releases
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-13-2007, 04:03 PM
  4. Wish-Test Function
    By Steve Daly in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-18-2005, 07:53 PM
  5. Trim Function
    By null null in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2005, 01:51 PM