Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member NNomad007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    portugal
    Posts
    88
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cool Real Korrys Real Trouble...

    Hi guys,

    I was lucky enough to get my hands over 30 real world airbus Korrys, which im expecting to arrive in a few days.

    Does anyone here has any experience adapting real world Korrys to the flightsim?... If so, can you share a bit of your experiences, because im a bit scared with the possibility of not knowing what on earth should i do with them when they arrive...

    Thanks!

    Alex

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Terminals #1 & #3 IIRC will light the indicators when voltage is applied. They are 28VDC, but 24VDC will light them up brightly and increase the bulb life.

    There is a diode present in the circuit so they are polarity sensitive. This allows a press-to-test function and/or an all-on type test from another circuit.

    There is also a schematic diagram of the indicator right on the case of the indicator. There are a lot of ways you can wire these, but I didn't get elaborate with mine.

    To disassemble the indicator for mounting, gently pull out the light cap and unscrew the two brass allen-head screws deep in the socket. DO NOT REMOVE THEM. Now you can remove the back half from the front half and the mounting bezel.

    Note which way is up for all pieces. They must be reassembled correctly.

    These are very expensive indicators and are like gold in the sim community. Be gentle with them and be careful you don't damage them while working with them.

    IIRC, the bulb is a 387.
    Last edited by Michael Carter; 11-09-2008 at 08:52 AM.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. Thanks NNomad007, W9XE/Project777 thanked for this post
  4. #3
    75+ Posting Member NNomad007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    portugal
    Posts
    88
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Michael,

    I have to say im trully amazed with the kindness i see around here..everyone seems to really care for others problems, something that aint all that easy to find..so, and in advance, i thank you for all the support given.

    Now...Korrys... your answer was great..you avoid me some troubles. I know they are very valuable pieces, and they do give some "real world soul" to the project...so ill be really carefull, and if you agree, ill post some pics in case i have questions regarding proper connection.. Your help will be really valuable

    Thanks again my friend

    Alex

  5. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    562
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by NNomad007 View Post
    Hi Michael,

    I have to say im trully amazed with the kindness i see around here..everyone seems to really care for others problems, something that aint all that easy to find..so, and in advance, i thank you for all the support given.
    It's why the community exists and grows.

  6. #5
    MyCockpit Support Staff dodiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    El Salvador
    Posts
    992
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Airbus

    Actually if they are Airbus KOrry's those lamps operate on 5V I think if they are Led's theya re easy to wire!

    Roberto

  7. #6
    75+ Posting Member NNomad007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    portugal
    Posts
    88
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Roberto,

    What if they are pre-1998?... Im asking this because i have a real External Light & APU panel, that is from 1997, and it operates with 34, 5v bulbs...no leds there.. As far as i know LEds are all post 1998.. can you confirm me that?..

    Thanks for the reply roberto.

    Cheers mate

    Alex

  8. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The Chroma Lux 318 Korry with LED's already contains the circuitry to drop the voltage to the required LED voltage. You will still use 24-28VDC to power them.

    Actually, all of the Korry LED equipped indicators regardless of series have the required internal circuitry.

    For a real aircraft or a simulator using aircraft voltage they're pretty much plug-n-play. No changes are required to the voltage buss for these indicators.

    Light plates for panels are 5VDC. Some Gables heads do use 28VDC though. I don't know why they're the oddball in some cases. It might be so that they can run directly off the hot battery buss if the AC and TR's fail.


    Visit Korry here http://www.korry.com/products/switch...omalux_318.stm so you can familiarize yourself with your new indicators. Each indicator has a .pdf document that explains wiring options and physical dimensions with cutout sizes.
    Last edited by Michael Carter; 11-10-2008 at 07:51 AM.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  9. Thanks NNomad007 thanked for this post
  10. #8
    75+ Posting Member NNomad007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    portugal
    Posts
    88
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the help mate, ill take a close look at those specs and ill keep you all updated when the korrys arrive.

    Cheers!

    Alex

Similar Threads

  1. TrueSky : import real traffic into FSX in real time
    By caKus in forum MSFS ADD-ONs General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-05-2011, 04:06 AM
  2. Real VSI+$40+1hour=Working real gauge!
    By 737NUT in forum Interfacing Real Aviation Parts
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-11-2010, 01:35 PM
  3. Real bulbs for real parts
    By LH784 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-27-2009, 08:25 PM
  4. Real 737-800 CDU
    By Daniel Schiffer in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-17-2006, 08:19 AM

Tags for this Thread