Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Side views

  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Side views

    Hi.
    I hope it's OK using this thread to ask about side views as I know Westozy may have a comment or two. I am using 3togo for forward outside views, and want to add left and right views as well. Is it just a case of adding a large dual head card - for instance 500mb, and configuring side views for the monitors?

    Hoping somebody can help?

    TONY. UK

  2. #2
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Tony,

    Yes you could use the TH2GO and two more monitors connected to another vid card for side views or add a DualH2GO. As for the layout, I suggest you take a look at Nic-D's experiments into optimal viewing windows to help you along.

    I favour the addition of the Dual Head 2Go as it seems to drain less recources from your system than using two output on a video card. Would need some testing though.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here's a question for the TH2G folks.

    Running one TH2G for instrument panel views, could you use WidevieW and a TH2G on another system succesfully for outside views?
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  4. #4
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I don't see why not Mike, the TH2GO just acts like a really wide monitor so that'd work.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hmmm...more food for thought.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    190
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Carter View Post
    Running one TH2G for instrument panel views, could you use WidevieW and a TH2G on another system succesfully for outside views?
    Hmmm, has Wideview now overcome the problems of synching the display of other aircraft across all systems? Otherwise it could give a problem with TCAS - and with collisions on the taxiway if all of the views are not on the same PC as the one running the main FS program. No problem if you don't use AI or Vatsim.

    --
    Bryn

  7. #7
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I must say I'm not a big fan of Wideview although I know other use it to great effect. The whole mirror loading of FS and all scenery addons etc seems monunmental to me. I much prefer paring down the main FS PC to run outside views and incorporate networked PC's to take the load for panels etc. This is where items such as the TH2GO and DH2GO are such a boon.

    I happily run 5 monitors from one PC to great effect, with weather, Radar Contact ATC, planners and Vatsim trackers on a network PC.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    43
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    WidevieW has all AI traffic perfectly sync'd if you use it icw WideTraffic.

    3 pc's would be best :
    - Pc 1 for instruments ( eg Magenta ) and no view
    - Pc 2 icw TripleHead2Go for left front view till left view
    - Pc 3 icw TripleHead 2 Go for right front view right view

    For lining out the total front view you need to adjust the panel.cfg file VIEW section.

Similar Threads

  1. 737 captains side
    By JWS in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-18-2010, 04:13 PM
  2. pm fo side nd size
    By David Withers in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-12-2008, 06:39 AM
  3. Adding side views
    By Westozy in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-01-2008, 07:23 PM
  4. Side views
    By Westozy in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-04-2007, 05:28 AM
  5. Side visuals
    By bindook in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-19-2007, 11:04 AM