Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 737 IRS display

  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    737 IRS display

    Does any one have a clue of what kind of segment displays that are used in the 737 IRS panel?

    I guess that it is 14 or 16 segment displays due to make letters N, S, E and W.

    And the color? On some pictures they look blue on other they look yellow. But for sure the "glass" in front of display is some kind of blue.

    Anyone have some good resource for buying the correct stuff?


  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    i think the real one uses numitron displays, at least the older 737's do.
    doubtfull that we will able to source those.
    Numitrons use filaments for the segments. They were used in aviation because of good readability in bright light conditions. Sometimes you can find them on ebay because they are also used in some general aviation radio displays.

    Problem will be driving them

    I think we wil be best off to use alfa numerical led displays.
    like these: http://coderseye.com/2006/15segment-display.html
    Again the problem will be driving them.

    Maybe its an idea to use lcd displays as several boards (open cockpits lcd display card, phidgets, etc), can drive lcd displays.
    best would be a lcd in a negative layout so that the digits are bright., wont look like the real thing though.

    Stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  3. Thanks ivar hestnes thanked for this post
  4. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Check out this site. Lots of cool electronics stuff, meters, power supplies and more: http://www.sphere.bc.ca/test/nixies2.html

    Numitron displays too. I didn't know they could do that with a vacuum tube.
    Last edited by Michael Carter; 10-27-2008 at 07:09 PM.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. Thanks ivar hestnes thanked for this post
  6. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yup I know sphere,

    nixies and numitrons are my other hobby...i build clocks out of them....

    sphere has some mintrons too....very small numitrons...only 7 segments though...and only 3 of them...and then the price: 59$ each.....

    Nixies and numitrons are vintage electronics...getting rare....so prices go skyhigh....

    good thing about numitron is that they can be driven by led technology.......so if it works with a 7 segment led display it will easily work with a numitron too...only need some diodes to prevent ghosting of the segments.

    Stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  7. Thanks ivar hestnes thanked for this post
  8. #5
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank you very much for helping guys

    Actually I was thinking about digits from an old shop-counter. And on Michaels link here, it seems to be plenty of them

    First goal with this was to make a realistic representation of the display. Maybe my brother which is an electronics engineer at Kongsberg Defense Aerospace could help me make it work. But there would stil be software issues I guess

    Thanks again folks. Very much appreciated.

  9. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    the shop counters will be most likely vfd displays....

    easy and cheap to source...often alpha numerical...blue-ish colour.

    im sure your brothere will be able to design something...but then indeed the link to fs needs to be written...

    Stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  10. #7
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    462
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Guys, am I on to something here?

    Opencockpits LCD-card is compatible with Hitachi HD44780 LCD standards .

    But check this link: http://www.futaba.com/products/displ...ails/vfd01.asp

    This VFD device will actually replace the Hitachi HD44780 lcd directly. Just like replacing a light bulb. But this display is a little small I think. And it is dot matrix and not alpha numeric like I think it should be.

    But please electronic guys. Jump in here

    Interesting Alpha numeric VFD display could be this one:
    http://www.noritake-itron.com/

    part number: AU169-K2SSB or AU169-KV12CS But probably not easy to get any letters showing on the display

Similar Threads

  1. STD to display
    By SteveClarke in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-22-2007, 04:32 PM
  2. FCU Display
    By Matt Olieman in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-12-2006, 09:45 AM
  3. NAV/ADF display on ND
    By Paul Harmer in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-17-2006, 03:27 AM
  4. Re: possible bug in GC (ND display) ??
    By John Ebbers in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-04-2006, 02:58 AM
  5. possible bug in GC (ND display) ??
    By John Ebbers in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 12:06 PM