Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    PC Power Supply Conversion

    I have a number of power supplies around that I can use but I'm having trouble with them. I've done the conversion on one but I'm not getting the latching correct or something. When I plug it in and throw the switch, I get a moment of power then it shuts off. Here is the guide I used.

    http://web2.murraystate.edu/andy.bat...owerSupply.htm

    Can someone help with this?
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie WJH308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    159
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I most certainly can help you with this, as I did this a month ago. Each voltage output has the same color of wire . Now your probably noticing that theres another smaller wire of the same color coming from a different place on the board of the PS. Well that wire is simply a voltage sensing wire. All you need to do is connect that with the rest of the wires of the same color.
    What your power supply is doing is turning on then off because the sense wire is detecting no volts. Some power supplies may only have one sensing wire for a particular output, mine had one for each different output.

    Either that is your problem or your placing no load on the PSU. switching power supplies need a load, however small. Oh and one more thing that I nearly learned the hard way!!! If your power supply has two big heat sinks, don't touch them, or at least don't bridge the gap between them with your fingers. My hand got REALLY tingly before I made that mistake and quickly realised what I nearly done!

  3. Thanks AndyT thanked for this post
  4. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have the sandbar resistor in place for the load. Not sure about the sensing wires. I'll check that.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  5. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie WJH308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    159
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    take a picture of your PS opened up, I'll see if I can spot it for you.

Similar Threads

  1. PC power supply to power Phidgets LED 64
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 04:21 PM
  2. 12V power supply
    By Jackpilot in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-24-2009, 03:45 AM
  3. FSBUS Com PCB 5V Power Supply
    By 388TH_A in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-16-2008, 12:10 PM
  4. PC power Supply
    By BlackWidow in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-25-2007, 11:50 PM
  5. Power Supply
    By Tim in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-28-2007, 09:13 AM