Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: My modest setup

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member Thunder175's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carthage, NY
    Posts
    46
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mycockpit.org My modest setup

    Hello all. I just thought I would finally post up my modest setup for all to see. It's basically a generic desktop build up, nothing all that special. I'm trying to figure what the next step should be since in my current situation I don't have the space or the tools to build an enclosed setup. I have been thinking of trying to build a frame to hold an overhead since I think that would be the next thing to do along with pmSystems. Please hit me with any questions, concerns, or comments!

    In another year or so I will probably be in a better position to build an enclosed pit but for now this is it! No where near the quality of some of you other guys on here but it works...






  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up

    Looks good to me - all the basics are in place: MCP, FMC, TQ, Yoke, Pedals and plenty of screens - plus is that a rather cool looking pc case I see on the right hand side?!
    I'm sure its only a small step from what you have there to the next level (a shell )

    Cheers
    Mike

  3. #3
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thunder, you've got some sweet hardware there. There are lots of pits (mine included) that have a structure but nowhere near your level of hardware. Whack some framwork around your lot using MDF etc. and you'll have a realistic 737.

    Keep it up and thanks for sharing.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  4. #4
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Modest???? That looks sweet Nice hardware is right!!!!!

    Thanks for sharing your setup/pics.

    Matt Olieman

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Very nice hardware indeed.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member Thunder175's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carthage, NY
    Posts
    46
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks guys! Yeah, I just need to actually build some frame work to hold the hardware. But like I said I am extremely limited in space and tools at the time being. I keep toying with the idea of either building or buying a MIP, but I can't come up with a good enough design on my own, and to purchase a prefabbed one doesn't seem like a wise choice right now. I keep saying I am just going to do it and order major end items like that but just can't seem to push the final "submit order" button on the website!

    The addition I really need to do but again can't come up with a good design is an overhead panel. I was thinking if I can build a frame with upright posts aligned to fit between the LCD frame's between the three monitors (thereby reducing blockage). That is the only thing holding me back from getting pmSystems right now is that fact that I can't stand using the demo with the GUI.

    Just so much to do! This hobby is only eclipsed by building a race car in time, money, and complexity!!

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member 747sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    59
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    ha

    if thats modest then mine is pure ghetto

  8. Thanks BlackWidow thanked for this post
  9. #8
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That is funny 747sim
    Mike G.

Similar Threads

  1. My modest project
    By drum4no1 in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-08-2011, 10:00 PM
  2. FSX system setup for full 737 cockpit setup
    By BBJ737 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 12:25 AM
  3. PC Setup
    By mascot in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 07:59 PM
  4. need help with new setup
    By axefinch in forum MyCockpit Support:
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-11-2009, 03:11 AM
  5. Need Help for PM Setup
    By Abrupto in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-13-2009, 03:59 AM