Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question How much torque is needed for Throttle Quadrant levers???

    Hi, i'm planning to build my own TQ with motorized Auto throttle motion... the problem is that i don't know wich motor type is better, Servos or Stepping!!!

    I mean, i know that high torque motors will be required to achieve a more or less real movement but how much torque is really needed???

    Saludos, estoy planeando crear un Throttle Quadrant de un 737 (dos motores) usando servos o motores paso a paso, y tengo dos dudas:

    La primera: He leído que es mejor usar motores paso a paso en vez de servos, segun los motores PAP ofrecen mayor Torque que un servo, sin embargo he visto servos de 416.61 oz.in (30.0 kg.cm) incluso hasta mayores... Que usarían ustedes???

    I found a tutorial where two 14ncm stepper motors are used to move two throttle levers, and if i'm not wrong 14ncm are more or less equal to 150oz.in (10.5kg.cm)...

    My question is: Wich are beter, Servos or Steppers??? and how much torque for each throttle lever???

    Regards

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    There are plenty of Servo Controllers on the market. I think it would be easier if you go to servo's.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes i also think it would be easier going with servos, but do you have any advise about torque amount? I mean, should i pick a high torque servo ??? i was thinking something around 200oz.in or 300oz.in but i'm just guessing the amount needed...

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I would probably go with the bigger motor/servo. It will strain much less to move the levers and that will increase the lifespan of it.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I agree. The bigger and more powerful, the less chances you will have to replace it
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

Similar Threads

  1. Throttle levers
    By castle in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-11-2010, 01:59 PM
  2. Throttle Levers
    By AlexJ in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 08:57 AM
  3. MD-83 Throttle Quadrant, Boeing 737-300 Throttle Quadrant
    By Chaser in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-05-2010, 08:10 PM
  4. Throttle levers
    By Jordan Farmer in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-14-2009, 12:49 PM
  5. Throttle quadrant, fuel levers, sliding parts
    By Wendy in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-28-2009, 07:48 PM