Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Hello Everyone

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing Hello Everyone

    Hello forum Members. I am Robert.

    I am from Mississauga, ON Canada. and am currently in the research and development stage of building my own 737-700/800 Simulator based on Westjet.

    I say research and development because I currently lack the money needed to purchase parts or hardware to build the sim.... gotta love the economy for that.

    I have tinkered with a few designs, mostly out of cardboard where I tend to build things that most of my friends say "there is no way that is cardboard." I recently moved into a house with my family and am renting out the basement, so I had to destroy the massive MIP/MCP and Center Pedestal I created out of double ply cardboard. The great news about this is I get 1/2 the garage to build my simulator in. I have been tinkering with ideas from various websites and the thoughts of building a lot of it from scratch to save money.

    My current inventory for my 737 is

    - 737 Go Flight MCP
    - 4 Go Flight Modules
    - a VRAC 737 style throttle (www.airplanestuff.com) Which doesn't operate as well as I would like it to and isn't as realistic as I preferred.
    - Saitek Pro Rudder Pedals
    - Saitek X52 Joystick/throttle combo

    I have also been trying some ideas with a few components that I have bought from www.desktopaviator.com to control key presses and switches which have worked out great.

    I look forward to all the friendships I will make here and he knowledge I will gain to build my sim.

    If you live in or around the Greater Toronto Area, let me know. We maybe able to work together on my sim. Of course I will return the favor.

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Welcome here, and ready to help.
    My first cockpit was also made out of thick cardboard (tan colour!) on an ABS pipe frame.
    Logged many hours in it.
    Jack
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Welcome to MyCockpit Robert,

    I moved from Toronto almost 3 years ago, and had a full Airbus A330 in the basement. Now living way up here in the sticks, I am still able to keep going on my build.

    I am on my 4th simulator now, and I couldn't have done any of them, without the wealth of knowledge from this site.

    I started with nothing, and planned and planned. Most importantly figured out a way to build my sims as cheap as possible, and have them as real as possible.

    I look forward to seeing your progress.

    Best regards,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    190
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Seems like a very good plan.

    Is that the MCP Pro? If so, it works perfectly with the FeelThere/Wilco/Pilot-in-Command 737-300/400/500 just to get you flying. Saves the expense of paying for the extra software necessary to interface it with the PMDG 737.

    Good flying!

    --
    Bryn

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict ak49er's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Big Lake, Alaska
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Welcome, your inventory is larger than what most begin with, I'd say you've got a pretty good start, and definitely enough hardware to fly, enjoy!

  6. #6
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Robert and welcome to MC.org,

    Have a look at my sim website, I have kept the budget down using one quick PC and PMDG software. Over four years I have spent AUD$8,500 including the purchase of the projector. The sim is very effective at creating the illusion of motion and continues to work very well, (touchwood!) It boots and is ready to go in 3 minutes.
    I monitor the mechanical forum here and I'm here to help and offer advice!

    Regards, Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by brynjames View Post
    Seems like a very good plan.

    Is that the MCP Pro? If so, it works perfectly with the FeelThere/Wilco/Pilot-in-Command 737-300/400/500 just to get you flying. Saves the expense of paying for the extra software necessary to interface it with the PMDG 737.

    Good flying!

    --
    Bryn
    Yep, it's the MCP Pro Long bar, I thought about the Wilco 737PIC but realized that a goal I want to achieve is full reliability on the hardware I will eventually install such as the overhead. The PMDG series is very finicky on that, I have to use Key2mouse to mimic most of the overhead functions, but it can't all be easy I say. I have a copy of the Ariane 737-700 and I have to say that is an amazingly accurate 737 to fly considering the track record of the owner. The MCP doesn't work with it yet, but I imagine things will change. Worst off, I will have to use Project Magenta Boeing MCP software to work out the kinks.

    Quote Originally Posted by Westozy View Post
    Hi Robert and welcome to MC.org,

    Have a look at my sim website, I have kept the budget down using one quick PC and PMDG software. Over four years I have spent AUD$8,500 including the purchase of the projector. The sim is very effective at creating the illusion of motion and continues to work very well, (touchwood!) It boots and is ready to go in 3 minutes.
    I monitor the mechanical forum here and I'm here to help and offer advice!

    Regards, Gwyn
    WOW $8500 AUD That's not bad considering some prices I have seen for parts and that people have spent to build there sims. The fortunate part is www.flightdecksolutions.com is about 45 minutes away from me so if I have to spend more then I wanted to I would probably purchase some stuff from him first. Mind you spending $1999.99 CDN on the 737 Shell kinda jumps me out of my budget as is.

    Oh before I forget, has anyone bought a throttle from Flight Simulator Center? They look amazing and very accurate. I may have to buy a new throttle to replace the one I mentioned above which is driving me up the wall with glitches
    Last edited by aircanbp; 10-17-2008 at 12:39 AM. Reason: Added Information

Tags for this Thread