Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 32/64 bit

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    32/64 bit

    Someone asked me this question

    Has anyone experienced any problem(s) running FS2004 ((or FX10)) with the 64bit version of Windows XP Pro? Reason for asking is because I am looking into having a new system "custom built" and was advised by technician to inquire with fellow simmers if using the 64bit version of XP Pro would cause a problem. Memory will be 4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM. In other words does FS2004 support 64 bit or should I go with the 32bit Windows Operating System? Thanks in
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    64 bit is fine. There MAY be some issues concerning drivers and other things, but most of that has been worked out.
    64 will give you the ability to have lots more memory. (at least up to 128 GB) and with multiple processors, you can eliminate a machine or two.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member Thunder175's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carthage, NY
    Posts
    46
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I run FS9 on an XP x64 machine here with absolutely no issues. The biggest advantages are obviously the ability to address more memory than the x86 limit of 3GB. Drivers are rarely an issue any more in my experience.

  4. #4
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I run both FS9 & FSX on Vista64 and all works fine (so far). My only real decision to go 64 was the ability to address larger memory as FS is very memory intensive next to CPU intensive. Vista also offers the advantage of DX10 (no big plus really, just eye candy) and the likelyhood of future-proofing.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  5. Thanks mstutz44 thanked for this post
  6. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Radar,

    I am about to follow your steps also using XP 64 the way to go if you intend to use more then 2 gig ram, I am still investigating on the machine composition. Would you like to share your pc specifics ?

    Thanks

    Ronny

  7. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    omaha ne
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Is Project Magenta and FSUIPC4 4.30 also compatible in Vista 64?

  8. #7
    Mycockpit, Inc. CTO Deesystems's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Mycockpit,INC Boston Office
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mycockpit.org win memory

    Guys,

    Theres an older thread on memory limits

    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/show...s+memory+limit



    Dee

  9. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by mstutz44 View Post
    Is Project Magenta and FSUIPC4 4.30 also compatible in Vista 64?
    Yes. I use them on two Vista64 machines, one with 8Gb the other with 4Gb main memory.

    Regards

    Pete