Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    47
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    My New Setup is underway.

    I've starting ordering the parts for my new PC setup:

    Q6600 2.4GHz Core 2 Quad 1066FSB 8Mb Cache
    MSI P7N-SLI Platinum Motherboard
    2x 256MB BFG nVidia Geforce 7800 GTX OC - Total of 4 Outputs
    4GB DDR2 800Mhz RAM
    120GB SATA HDD

    Will this be ok to run FSX??? I dont have FSX yet, but will upgrade in the future (as soon as PMDG release NGX) but i suppose then i'll need FS11.

    And ive got my eye on a nice projector for the display on ebay.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    215
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sure it should run it no problem, but the question really is what will it look like. Without add-ons it should run smoothly at medium - high settings. One big factor is whether you're using Windows XP or Vista. Another is whether you plan to have 4 outputs running and what you'll have on them.

    One output for instruments and 3 for visuals might over-tax your video cards. I'm running 3 outputs reasonably well but only one is visuals.

    Might be worth getting a faster stock processor though as I keep hearing that the processor speed seems to be the bottleneck with FSX. I have the same, well ok a dual running at that speed and it's ok. But I'm already considering an upgrade.

    Quote Originally Posted by droddis View Post
    I've starting ordering the parts for my new PC setup:

    Q6600 2.4GHz Core 2 Quad 1066FSB 8Mb Cache
    MSI P7N-SLI Platinum Motherboard
    2x 256MB BFG nVidia Geforce 7800 GTX OC - Total of 4 Outputs
    4GB DDR2 800Mhz RAM
    120GB SATA HDD

    Will this be ok to run FSX??? I dont have FSX yet, but will upgrade in the future (as soon as PMDG release NGX) but i suppose then i'll need FS11.

    And ive got my eye on a nice projector for the display on ebay.

    Thanks
    VANCOUVER
    Jet fighter / single pilot sim, plus thinking of a 777 as a secondary sim.

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie WJH308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    159
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thats my computer your building except I have a 3850 radeon video card.
    I will suggest to you to wait for the newer Intel quadcores to come out. Yes your setup will run FSX very nicely. I get up to 100fps with the stock airplanes with graphics on medium, no AA. Throw in the Level D 767 into Miami with many buildings, the FPS drops down to 20's. Away from the cities, up to 35 fps.
    Still though, save your money, wait for a new quad core, next generation 45nm ones.

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    47
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    so i'd be better with something like the Q9550 2.83GHz or the Q8200 2.33Ghz???

    for the displays 3 would be the instruments and 1 for visual - on HP vp6111 projector.

    thanks

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie WJH308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    159
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    At least a 9series quadcore. Intel has new chips comming, longer you wait, the better.

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    47
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Whats the expected price tag on the new chips. i'm working to a tight budget and i'm also impatient.

    If i do go for the q6600 i'll more than likely try to OC it to 3Ghz.

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie WJH308's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    159
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by droddis View Post
    Whats the expected price tag on the new chips. i'm working to a tight budget and i'm also impatient.

    If i do go for the q6600 i'll more than likely try to OC it to 3Ghz.
    First thing first. If you want to O/C the Q6600, dont buy the LT680i motherboard like I did, it is bugged, could only get 2.6 out of it.
    Another thing, if your on a budget, go to Ubid and buy a refurbished quad core 9series desktop for around 600$ usually. You will still want to put a nice video card in it. Yes we could all wait for a better deal, every 6 months theres better deals...

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    47
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ok well after consideration i've decided to go for the Q9550 2.83Ghz Yorkfield as i've seen a good price. Its on the 45nm architecture and also has the 1333FSB so should give a bit more power.

    Any advice??

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    215
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    There's always new technology lurking around the corner, so there's never a good or bad time. With money being an issue, waiting for new technology to be available isn't a wise choice as it will be very much more expensive. My approach is to wait until a new generation of chip has been around a few months. By then the first processors in that range will become considerably cheaper compared with the newest, but with only a small difference in performance. Then, in my opinion, is the time to buy, for maximum longevity.
    VANCOUVER
    Jet fighter / single pilot sim, plus thinking of a 777 as a secondary sim.

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    215
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Just checking the processor you're going for and that's exactly what I'm talking about. You're going for a new processor which has dropped in price sufficiently (around $350). Yet you'd have to fork out nearly $300 more to get a tiny increase in performance.

    2.66GHZ Yorkfield 1333FSB 12MB OEM No HSF $344.99

    +0.17GHz @ $10

    2.83GHZ Yorkfield 1333FSB 12MB Retail Box $354.98

    +0.17GHz @ $280

    3.0GHZ Yorkfield 1333FSB 12MB Retail Box $629.99

    Sensible choice in my opinion.
    VANCOUVER
    Jet fighter / single pilot sim, plus thinking of a 777 as a secondary sim.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FSX system setup for full 737 cockpit setup
    By BBJ737 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 12:25 AM
  2. PC Setup
    By mascot in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 07:59 PM
  3. need help with new setup
    By axefinch in forum MyCockpit Support:
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-11-2009, 03:11 AM
  4. Need Help for PM Setup
    By Abrupto in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-13-2009, 03:59 AM
  5. New S/W for PM setup help...
    By mpl330 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 08:21 AM