Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member Mr. Midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    129
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    dual core or quad core

    even though i have already gotten the dual core , i was told that a quad core would have been better for FSX.

    im wondering if you good folks can expand on that.

    thanks....Robert

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Robert, FSX now with the patches makes use of multiple cores. therefore the more the better.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Trevor Hale View Post
    Robert, FSX now with the patches makes use of multiple cores. therefore the more the better.

    Trev
    I don't have FSX, but as i hear, there is no computer until today, that can support FSX, with winter heavy weather, online flights with some multiplayer aircrafts around, with high settings and good fps.

    Many many friends, invest their to a powerful PC for FSX (more than 1000), but they are flying the Fs9

    Any other opinion ?

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by oal331 View Post
    I don't have FSX, but as i hear, there is no computer until today, that can support FSX, with winter heavy weather, online flights with some multiplayer aircrafts around, with high settings and good fps.

    Many many friends, invest their to a powerful PC for FSX (more than 1000), but they are flying the Fs9

    Any other opinion ?
    Maybe make use of a server?

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict AchillesP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Greece, Thessaloniki
    Posts
    381
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by oal331 View Post
    I don't have FSX, but as i hear, there is no computer until today, that can support FSX, with winter heavy weather, online flights with some multiplayer aircrafts around, with high settings and good fps.

    Many many friends, invest their to a powerful PC for FSX (more than 1000), but they are flying the Fs9

    Any other opinion ?
    Hi,

    Actually there is. A pc with qx9770 overclocked at 4,0Ghz and asus rampage extreme. I saw it in action.

    I am telling only QX9770 because it is based at the new tecnhology of 45nm instead of 65nm. This makes the cores to be 50% more faster at the same spped with less power and heat.

    For example. A 65nm tecnhology runs at max 333 Mhz when 45nm starts at 400Mhz with a stock multiplier 8. So you go 400 x 10 = 4Ghz of speed just for fun with air cooling. If you want to go 400 x 11 = 4,4 Ghz you need water cooling to keep temperature under 50 of celcium in full action.

    Also the data goes paraller of the cores because of the many transistors instead of one by one per core.

    So, FSX is just a breakfast for QX9770.
    With best regards,
    Achilles
    http://www.thefsps.com

  6. #6
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by AchillesP View Post
    Hi,
    So, FSX is just a breakfast for QX9770.
    Doesn't say much for FSX, at least for now. I hate being teased with all the eye candy and only to get stutter, even with the best that's out there. I agree with some; FSX is just ahead if itself.

    Matt Olieman

  7. #7
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile Just another thought about this

    Just wanted to ad to my last post, since I was thinking about it

    Bottom line is.... What do you want; FS9 a fast smooth scenery (lot's of scenery options, not quite as good as FSX), operates nicely on today's standard technology.... OR..... FSX a fantastic scenery options, but can't use it to the max, because of slow frame rates, and consistently nags at you to find improvement of your computer, which is not there, or else set the setting low..... now you're back at FS9 level.

    Comes down to this, in my opinion, what ever that means.... LOL.... and (I love FSX), you might as well get the super duper computer and use FS9 with all it's glitter ad-ons.

    Will I fly FSX once I have my super duper computer going... you bet. But I think FS9 will be my main FS.

    Matt Olieman

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Matt Olieman View Post
    Will I fly FSX once I have my super duper computer going... you bet. But I think FS9 will be my main FS.

    Matt Olieman
    Matt oh Matt! How disappointing! You started this forum and you are still living in the past. You of all people should be a trail blazer & at the forefront of new technology

    FS9 will be history soon (FSX will be history later as well). Hasn't anyone learned from the past yet?

    Maurice

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yeah, with FS8. That's why I'm staying with FS9 while I have a great system to run it with.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  10. #10
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Look everyone, listen to Maurice. Sure FSX can be slower on some hardware but you don't have to spend much to get it to perform, and it's soooooo nice. Fly once with something like Orbix FTX loaded and you just won't bother going back. Yes FS9 can still be enjoyed immensely with current hardware specs just as a bicycle can get you from A to B at little cost, but there's no doubting a car will do it in more comfort and style.

    FSX (as will be FS11) is the future and I recommend giving it a go.

    BTW, if you're not getting good performance with FSX using medium spec hardware then there's something wrong with your hardware and/or software setup.

    Just my 2 bobs worth

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 1 quad core pc, 2 gfx cards, 4 screens...will it work?
    By dxb747 in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-11-2009, 01:34 PM
  2. single core or dual core?
    By Drewsta in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-04-2009, 09:42 AM
  3. Intel Core i7 as CPU platform? + dual PCIe 2.0 VGAs?
    By kni-dk in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2009, 05:13 PM
  4. Intel Core i7 benchmarks
    By AchillesP in forum MyCockpit Member Meetings
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-31-2008, 06:34 PM
  5. Buying New "quad Core" Super System
    By DENNIS ORSAG in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 03-19-2008, 07:38 PM