Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    OpenCockpit EFIS software issue

    Hello everybody,
    I may be terminally stupid but I cannot get a recently purchased EFIS from Open Cockpits to interface with FSX. I have the MCP up and running, but when I plug in the EFIS it doesn't appear under the device heading as recognised. I have been in contact with the supplier but unfortunately his explanation has not been much help. I was advised to modify the SIOC.ini file (which I did) by adding a second line to identify the EFIS. This did not work. I am at then end of my tether on this. My programming skills are limited (but improving by the hour) and unfortunately the Open Cockpit manual leaves a lot to be desired in its interpretation to English.. Anybody else have a similar experience? and if so can you help. Cheers:

    Finally got it recognised (more by accident than design) but now have a similar probelm to an earlier thread - I can adjust the barometric pressure setting but nothing else. Any help?
    Last edited by Gordon Turner; 09-12-2008 at 03:12 AM. Reason: Figured out how to get it recognised under "devices"

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    144
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Gordon,

    I had the same problems last week and managed to fix them by downloading SIOC version 3.52. If you are using version 3.5 it will not work.

    Easist way to find the download is go to the Opencockpit's on-line shop and look up the details on their EFIS plug and play module.

    When it loads up you will see some tabs on the details page and one of them is called downloads.

    In there you will find a link to the correct version of SIOC.
    Also, remember that's important to setup the SIOC configuration file correctly with the Master definitions.

    Mine are as follows
    MASTER=0,5,1,17
    MASTER=1,7,1,19
    the number 5 on the first line denotes the MCP and the number 7 on the second denotes the EFIS module.

    If you are using Project Magenta you will find an EFIS SIOC script at the same place as the SIOC 3.52 link.
    Just download and append that to your MCP script and you should be good to go.

    cheers
    Paul

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Paul, That gets me started. I now see both devices but the MCP is no longer operative while I can only adjust the baro setting on the EFIS. I'll keep going and see what turns out. Seems one thing gets fixed and then another problem pops up. I will let you know how it goes. Thanks, Gordon

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    144
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Are you using Project Magenta?

    If so, I can send you my MCP-EFIS script and you can try that.

    The EFIS part of the script is for both capt and FO efis but I've only got the one unit as I am only building the capt side of the cockpit.

    It doesn't matter though as SIOC will only look for whatever changes are made in the hardware and respond accordingly.

    Paul

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm just using FSX at the moment as I didn't want to complicate matters. Does that affect the function of the modules? One thing I've noticed since changing the master definitions is that the MCP no longer illuminates or works. I think I'll take a step back, delete all existing OC software and start from scratch. I'll let you know how I go. cheers, Gordon

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    144
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ok then just make sure that you are using a SIOC script that is intended for use with the default aircraft otherwise that might be your problem.
    It's a bit of trial and error but I'm sure that you'll get there.

    Paul

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    89
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Gordon,

    Please check this thread

    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/show...t=13084&page=2

    This is for FS9 and PMDG, and not tested in FSX

    Things to do

    1 - Makes ure that you are supplying electric to these modles. I use a USB HUB with its own power supply as some systems do not provide enough power to these modules.

    2- Use SIOC 3.52b

    3 - As paul explained modify the lines that start with MASTER, last digits MUST be device numbers recognized by your SIOC once activated.

    4 - In the sioc.ini file there is a line that says;

    window =Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 - A Century of flight with WideServer.waiting for clients

    CHANGE THIS TO YOU WINDOW TITLE AS FSX EXACTLY AS IT SHOWS THERE


    Finally,

    Since I really did not try this with FSX I have no idea if any of the offsets read there is different in FSUIPC4 version. Normally HDG, ALT, COURSE ara always the same offsets. Peter Dowson cna answer this.

    Meanwhile I am gonna start working on FSX son.

    Best Regards,

    barkay

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello Barkay, thanks for the additional advice.

    I have been following Pauls directions with no success. The following shows my actions to date:

    a. I removed all OC software and started from scratch.
    b. I downloaded and installed the MCP software which gave me a IOCards folder with an MCP folder.
    c. I used an addon USB hub with its own power and plugged in the MCP module.
    d. I opened FSX and the MCP SIOC. The MCP lights up and works perfectly in FSX using Boeing 737-800 aircraft.
    e. This is what is in the SIOC.ini file shown in the MCP folder:

    [ fichero de configuracion para el SIOC ver. 3.41 ]
    [ Configuration file for SIOC ]


    [************** SIOC ***************]

    [ Puerto del servidor IOCP ]
    [ IOCP port ]
    IOCP_port=8092

    [ Tiempo de respuesta máximo de los paquetes IOCP ]
    [ IOCP Timeout ]
    IOCP_timeout=4000

    [ Arranque minimizado en la barra ]
    [ Start minimized in tray ]
    Minimized=No

    [ Retraso necesario para las variables toggles (Project Magenta)]
    [ Deley needed for var. toggles (Project Magenta) ]
    toggle_delay=20

    [ Fichero de configuracion ]
    [ Configuration File ]
    CONFIG_FILE=.\sioc.ssi


    [************** IOCARDS MODULE ***************]

    [ Desactivar el módulo de las IOCards ]
    [ Disable IOCards module ]
    IOCard_disable=No

    [------------- CARDS CONFIG -------------]

    [ IOCard Master ]
    [...............]

    [ Spanish : ]

    [ MASTER=(Indice device),(Tipo),(Número de tarjetas),(Número device) ]

    [ Indice Device: Índice usado en la variable SIOC como device, para indicar a que tarjeta se hace referencia ]
    [ Se usa 0 en el caso de que sólo haya una tarjeta y no se tenga en cuenta el número de device, por defecto un script en SIOC cuando no se pone parámetro DEVICE, se hace referencia al índice 0]

    [ tipo = 0 : Emulador de Master Card ]
    [ tipo = 1 : Tarjeta Master conectada al puerto paralelo directamente ]
    [ tipo = 2 : Tarjeta Master conectada al puerto paralelo mediante cable de compatibilidad ]
    [ tipo = 3 : Placa de expansión por puerto paralelo ]
    [ tipo = 4 : Tarjeta USBExpansion usada ]
    [ tipo = 5 : Modulo MCP de Opencockpits ]

    [ Número de tarjetas = Número de placas Master usadas, 1 a 4 para uso de placas de expansión, 1 para conexión de placa Master directa o del Emulador ]

    [ Número de device = 0 en el caso del Emulador o primera tarjeta USB detectada, Dirección del puerto paralelo (por ejemplo $037, o número de dispositivo USB ]

    [ Por ejemplo para una Master conectada al puerto paralelo : ]
    [ MASTER=0,1,1,$0378 ]

    [ Un ejemplo de 2 USBExpansion conectadas con 3 y 2 placas Master ]
    [ MASTER=0,4,3,22 ]
    [ MASTER=1,4,2,24 ]

    [ Un ejemplo de conexión a simulador ]
    [ MASTER=0,0,1,0 ]


    [ English : ]

    [ MASTER=(Device index),(Type),(Number of cards),(Device number) ]

    [ Device index : Index used in SIOC variable like device, this is the card used for SIOC sentence ]
    [ Use 0 for only one card, for this value you not need specify Device number. If you not use DEVICE parameter in a definition in SIOC script, the default index used is 0]

    [ type = 0 : Master Card Emulator ]
    [ type = 1 : Master Card connected directly to parallel port ]
    [ type = 2 : Master Card connected throught compatibility cable to parallel port ]
    [ type = 3 : Expansion Card connected throught parallel port ]
    [ type = 4 : USBExpansion Card used ]
    [ type = 5 : Opencockpits MCP module ]

    [ Number of Cards = Master cards connecteds, 1 to 4 for expansion cards, 1 for a Master card directly connected or Emulator ]

    [ Number of device = 0 for Emulator or first USB card detected, parallel port address, device number for specifies USBexpansion card ]

    [ For example, a Master Card connected directly to parallel port : ]
    [ MASTER=0,1,1,$0378 ]

    [ For example, two USBExpansion cards connected with 3 and 2 Master cards used ]
    [ MASTER=0,4,3,22 ]
    [ MASTER=1,4,2,24 ]

    [ For example, use of Master card emulator ]
    [ MASTER=0,0,1,0 ]

    [ Use the first USBExpansion card connected with only one Master Card attached ]
    [ Esta definición es para usar la primera tarjeta USBExpansion que se encuentre instalada que además llevará conectada una placa Master ]
    MASTER=0,5,1,0


    [ Others Cards / Otras tarjetas ]
    [...............................]

    [ Spanish : ]

    [ Nombre_de_tarjeta=(Indice device),(Número device) ]

    [ Indice Device: Índice usado en la variable SIOC como device, para indicar a que tarjeta se hace referencia ]
    [ Se usa 0 en el caso de que sólo haya una tarjeta y no se tenga en cuenta el número de device, por defecto un script en SIOC cuando no se pone parámetro DEVICE, se hace referencia al índice 0]

    [ Número de device = 0 para usar primera tarjeta USB de este tipo detectada ó número de dispositivo USB ]


    [ English : ]

    [ Name_of_card=(Device index),(Device number) ]

    [ Device index : Index used in SIOC variable like device, this is the card used for SIOC sentence ]
    [ Use 0 for only one card, for this value you not need specify Device number. If you not use DEVICE parameter in a definition in SIOC script, the default index used is 0]

    [ Number of device = 0 for first USB card of this type detected, or device number for a specifies device ]

    [ Ejemplo de dos USBServos en indices 0 y 1, y números de devices 17 y 23 ]
    [ Example of two USBServos for index 0 and 1, and device number 17 and 23 ]

    [ USBServos=0,17 ]
    [ USBServos=1,23 ]


    USBStepper=0,0
    USBKeys=0,0
    USBServos=0,0
    USBRelays=0,0
    USBDCmotor=0,0

    [ Para los ejes analógicos se usan los números de devices de las tarjetas donde están alojados ]
    [ For analogic axles, you use the device number of cards what allow the axles ]

    USBAnalogic=0,0


    [************** FSUIPC MODULE ***************]

    [ Desabilitar lectura de las FSUIPC ]
    [ FSUIPC disable mode yes/no ]
    FSUipcdisable=No

    [ Refresco recepción FSUIPC ]
    [ FSUIPC refresh ]
    FSUipcRefresh=50


    [************** IOCP CLIENTS MODULES ***************]

    [ Retraso para inicializacion una vez conectado el cliente en milisegundos ]
    [ Delay for initialization when client has been connected in mseconds ]
    IOCPini_delay=3000

    [************** IOCP CLIENT MODULE #0 ***************]

    [ Desactivar el módulo cliente IOCP ]
    [ Disable IOCP client module ]
    IOCPclient0_disable=Yes

    [ IP del servidor donde debe de conectar el cliente ]
    [ IOCP client host name ]
    IOCPclient0_host=localhost

    [ Puerto de envio del protocolo IOCP cliente ]
    [ IOCP client port ]
    IOCPclient0_port=8090


    [************** IOCP CLIENT MODULE #1 ***************]

    [ Desactivar el módulo cliente IOCP ]
    [ Disable IOCP client module ]
    IOCPclient1_disable=Yes

    [ IP del servidor donde debe de conectar el cliente ]
    [ IOCP client host name ]
    IOCPclient1_host=localhost

    [ Puerto de envio del protocolo IOCP cliente ]
    [ IOCP client port ]
    IOCPclient1_port=8099


    [************** SOUND MODULE ***************]

    [ Ficheros de sonido ]
    [ Sound Files ]

    [ Desactivar el módulo de sonido ]
    [ Disable Sound module ]
    Sound_disable=yes

    [ Volumen general de los sonidos 0-100 ]
    [ Master Volume 0-100 ]
    Volume=100


    [ put '*' first filename for loop Sound ]
    [ anteponer '*' en el fichero para bucle continuo de sonido]

    [ Sound=wav_file,frequency,volume,pan ]
    [ frequency=100 to 100000 0=original -1=current ]
    [ volume=0 to 100, -1=current ]
    [ pan=-100 (left) to +100 (right) 0=center -1=current ]

    [ Sound=Fichero_wav,frecuencia,volumen,balance ]
    [ frecuencia=100 hasta 100000 0=original -1=Por defecto ]
    [ volumen=0 hasta 100 -1=Volumen por defecto ]
    [ balance=-100 (Izquierda) hasta +100 (Derecha) 0=centro -1=Por defecto ]

    [ #1 ]
    Sound=APDis.wav,-1,-1,-1

    [ #2 ]
    Sound=*outermk.wav,-1,-1,-1

    [ #3 ]
    Sound=*hello.wav

    [************** KEYBOARD EMULATOR MODULE ***************]

    [ Nombre exacto de la ventana donde se enviarán las teclas ]
    [ Name of window for key send ]
    [window = "Project Magenta Glass Cockpit - Build 396" ]

    window =a.txt - Bloc de notas


    [ Asignación de teclas ]
    [ assign youe keys ]

    #1=\B\A
    #2=/
    #3=C
    #4=D
    #5=E
    #6=F
    #7=G
    #8=H
    #9=I
    #10=J
    #11=K
    #12=L
    #13=M
    #14=N
    #15=O
    #16=P
    #17=Q
    #18=R
    #19=S
    #20=T
    #21=U
    #22=V
    #23=W
    #24=X
    #25=Y
    #26=Z
    #27=1
    #28=2
    #29=3
    #30=4
    #31=5
    #32=6
    #33=7
    #34=8
    #35=9
    #36=0
    #37=<
    #38=,
    #39=.
    #40=-
    #41=*
    #42=+
    #43=//
    #44=
    #45=
    #46=
    #47=
    #48=
    #49=
    #50=
    #51=
    #52=
    #53=
    #54=
    #55=
    #56=
    #57=
    #58=
    #59=
    #60=
    #61=
    #62=
    #63=
    #64=
    #65=
    #66=
    #67=
    #68=
    #69=
    #70=
    #71=
    #72=
    #73=
    #74=
    #75=
    #76=
    #77=
    #78=
    #79=
    #80=
    #81=
    #82=
    #83=
    #84=
    #85=
    #86=
    #87=
    #88= #200=
    [ End of File ]


    f. I contacted Open Cockpits with this response:

    Hello Gordon
    Please go to www.opencockpits.com, click in the image of the EFIS at the left hand row an go to the product description, there go to the "Downloads" tab and download the
    New SIOC 3.52b ready for EFIS. Also PMagenta script
    Install it separately from the MCP Sioc.
    Copy in the new Sioc the SIOC.INI and SIOC.SSI files.
    Now your EFIS should work in FSX.
    Open both Sioc to have MCP and EFIS running.
    Regards

    Your Opencockpits Support Team

    g. I downloaded the SIOC 3.52b and unzipped it. It contained updated sioc.exe, sioc.ini, sioc.ssi, sioc_efis.ini plus a couple of txt files.
    h. I installed these files into the SIOC folder and overwrote the files already there.
    i. I then opened the SIOC.exe and have both devices showing:
    IOCard-MCP Devices=40, and
    IOCard-EFIS Devices=39.
    j. The new SIOC.ini file (in the SIOC folder) shows only one MASTER entry of 1,7,1,0.

    Is this where I should enter another MASTER line to include the MCP? and should I include the device number to reflect what shows in the SIOC open window?

    OC say I should open both SIOC. When I do this I no longer have control of the MCP (ie no lights) and can only change the baro reading via the EFIS.

    My programming skills expired with the demise of DBaseII and Supercalc, so I am at a loss to activate what was sold as a plug and play device. I am sure OC have all good intentions at heart, but their manuals and explanations leave a lot to be desired.

    Sorry for the length of this message but I wanted to ensure I gave all the information I could.

    Regards, Gordon

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    144
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Gordon,
    Still having problems I see

    Let's see if we can sort it out.

    First off I agree with Barkey's post and make sure that you are powering the EFIS and MCP panels. Did you by any chance purchase the recommended power adapters when you bought the units from Opencockpits?

    I did, but ofcourse they came with a European style plug and I then had to purchase a couple of adapter from Bunnings to convert them for Australian use.
    Anyway if you didn't, don't worry, as you can purchase suitable power supplies from Jaycar or **** Smith etc.
    They say that you can run the MCP and EFIS from powered USB hubs but I thought that I would take the safe route and use seperate power supplies.
    You still ofcourse need to plug them into a usb hub to connect to your computer.

    Reading your last post I see that you have downloaded the correct version of SIOC and also the EFIS script.
    Now here is where you may be going wrong. Are you trying to use the Project Magenta EFIS script? If you are only going to be using FSX and the default 737 aircraft don't use the PM script.
    In your SIOC folder you should see a number of different scripts for the EFIS. I think that you should be trying to use the one called EFIS_737.

    Also the SIOC config file that you listed in your last post is for SIOC version 3.41 you need to use the config file for version 3.52 which would have been included .

    In that config you will see an example of where/how to show the MASTER definitions. Just add your details in there and save it.

    Once you have that done you then need to join the 2 scripts for the MCP and EFIS together so that it becomes just 1 bigger script.
    You will need to add the following to each line of the EFIS part of the script that refers to the inputs. " DEVICE 1" (without the quotes)

    For example

    Var 1301, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 20 // ROT1_VOR


    Becomes

    Var 1301, Link IOCARD_SW, Device 1, Input 20 //ROT1_VOR

    Try doing that and let us know how it goes.

    Good Luck

    Paul

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    144
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Just a couple of other things I've just thought of.
    When you go to join the 2 scripts together I don't think that you can just take the compiled scripts and just merge them.( I may be wrong here.)

    What I think you have to do and how I did mine was to merge the 2 text versions of the scripts (which should be in your SOIC folder) and rename the merge file to something like MCP_EFIS_737.(using notepad)

    Then start config.sioc and import this new text file and compile it as a new sioc script.
    That new compiled script is the one you need to use with SIOC.
    If you call the script MCP_EFIS_737 then you will also need to change the
    SIOC.config file to reflect the new script.

    EXAMPLE
    CONFIG_FILE=.\MCP_EFIS_737.ssi


    Hope this helps

    Paul

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. OpenCockpit MCP Configuration
    By aviatorden in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-08-2010, 01:34 PM
  2. Opencockpit Indicator Box
    By andarlite in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-16-2009, 03:08 PM
  3. Bug in Opencockpit IOCARD
    By oliver_mpt in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-19-2008, 01:46 PM