Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Keyboard emulation

    I am re-building my sim, and currently use Hagstrom's KE 72 keyboard emulator - but wondered if there is another similar product on the market?

    Any idea's anybody?

    TONY

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Tony,

    I use two KE-72s in my pit. They are great.... and to my knowledge there is not another equavalent that has the same features. They have added a new unit that is the KE108 and usb.


    http://www.hagstromelectronics.com/p...ke_usb108.html

    best,

    .................john

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I use the KE108. Works great

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    436
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I use 4 of these USB keys from IO cockpits and are equally as good but a little cheaper:
    http://www.opencockpits.com/catalog/...card-p-53.html
    Cheers...............Brian W.

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by brianwilliamson View Post
    I use 4 of these USB keys from IO cockpits and are equally as good but a little cheaper:
    http://www.opencockpits.com/catalog/...card-p-53.html
    Cheers...............Brian W.
    Cheaper yes, but I personally don't think they offer the same features.

    First of all the docs say "matrixed". The KE-72 and KE109 are not. All are discrete inputs..... which prevent ghosting issues in certain circumstances.

    Plus the Hagstrom software seems to provide more complex options and (on the very subjective side) an easier programming language.

    best,

    .................john

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    215
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quick question to any Hagstrom owners and keyboard emulators. I was always under the impression that you can only have ONE as adding an additional 72 input unit (for example) would just double up (like adding an additional keyboard). is this NOT the case? If you have 2 x 72 input units can you assign 144 unique inputs?

    Thank you for any help.

    Paul
    VANCOUVER
    Jet fighter / single pilot sim, plus thinking of a 777 as a secondary sim.

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul G View Post
    Quick question to any Hagstrom owners and keyboard emulators. I was always under the impression that you can only have ONE as adding an additional 72 input unit (for example) would just double up (like adding an additional keyboard). is this NOT the case? If you have 2 x 72 input units can you assign 144 unique inputs?

    Thank you for any help.

    Paul
    Paul, you can connect two KE72 together to one computer. With the KE72, you are not just limited to just a single key character for each input, but up to a 32 character macro. So, there's quite a few possibilities.

    Regards,
    Henry

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    215
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the response Henry. Quite useful then eh? Does this mean that keys assigned with this can be programmed with FSUIPC? I'm guessing so as it's a keyboard emulator, right?

    Just another question about keyboard emulation. If I program the functions of something like this, does this mean that a keyboard plugged into the same computer can also be programmed via FSX in the usual way?

    Paul
    VANCOUVER
    Jet fighter / single pilot sim, plus thinking of a 777 as a secondary sim.

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Paul,

    The possibilities of programming with the combination of a Hagstrom keyboard encoder and FSUIPC are almost endless. You can get the Hagstrom to send anything from a single keystroke to a macro of complex Shift+CNTRL combo keystrokes... including putting variable length pauses between sent keys. Different stuff on make from that sent on break. VERY flexible options.

    Then using FSUIPC, you can convert the Hagstrom keysends to other stuff if you need to... like putting values in offsets, converting the output to a joystick button press, activating internal FS control values, activation of "mouse macros" you build yourself to access a panel function that doesn't have a keypress access, and so on.

    best,

    .....................john

  10. Thanks Kris Stow, BlackWidow, Tomlin thanked for this post
  11. #10
    25+ Posting Member Kris Stow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seabrook,TX (U.S.A)
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    After reading this it has inspired me to use this idea as my EFIS controls for my PMRJ software. Does the KE come with its own software to program the marcos and such?

    Do any of you guys use the keyboard emulators on your client machines for your GC controls (Weather, Terrain, Range) and/or PMsystem controls?
    --

    Kris S.
    Seabrook,Texas


    www.lear45project.org

    Also proud supporter of..
    http://hangar45.net
    www.innovativefsp.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. TOGA and AT disengage on FSC TQ (key emulation)
    By Aaron in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-19-2010, 04:47 AM
  2. Using FMC as Keyboard?
    By wody in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 01:58 PM
  3. Can a keyboard be used...
    By shearder in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-23-2009, 03:32 PM
  4. Keyboard
    By Mac in forum MyCockpit Member Meetings
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-06-2009, 10:19 AM
  5. Keyboard Emulation
    By imported_redman in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-06-2005, 07:34 PM