Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

panel dev or modification for fsx

Hello,

I'm working on building a fsx based cockpit, for several educational purposes (for no specific aircraft at this time).

My setup is based on one videoprojector and three 22" lcd panels for the instruments.

One special work topic will be about building special panels. So I'm looking on two specific areas :

* development of gauges, etc
    * modification of panels using existing gauges but resizing, placing them

So far, my setup works with 4 pc (using fsuipc, widefs and FreeFD for some instruments) but I have very little knowledge of development on this topic. Would anyone have some suggestions for my project ?

Thanks in advance,

Artturi

300+ Forum Addict

Arrturi,

There is a Microsoft tutorial on making XML gauges that covers the basics. It's included in the SDK which is on the MSFSX Deluxe installation DVD. It's also online as part of the MS ESP documentation.
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc526953.aspx

It makes use of an XML editing tool ("ACE" tool) which may have been installed by the SDK rather than FSX. I'm not sure.

There is also documentation about the panel configuration file which tells FSX where to place instruments on the panel.
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc526956.aspx

Here's another source of tutorials: http://www.fs2x.com/Tutorials.htm There are some small differences in FS9 XML and FSX XML. As the fs2x tutorials are older, there is a small chance there may be some issues running these gauges in FSX. I'm not sure about this, however. These are excellent tutorials, but I've not tried to run them in an FSX panel.