Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member hca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    bali
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    building 727 or early 747

    I am planning most likely a 727 build up, but considering a 747 early variant. pre glass model.

    It will have to be one of these because I have collected heaps of parts already.

    I was looking for a source of the panel layouts, and if available the general dimensions.

    Searching I find a lot of info on later glass based models but could I ask for a pointer in the right direction or help out with info on the pre glass versions.

    regards Harry

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Muuhaaaa...we have captured another one.


    Boy are you in for a lot of fun. And hair-pulling, and probably some cussing thrown in too. Good thing you have a supply of parts on hand, just keep collecting them because no one makes any repros. 727 or 747-200 doesn't matter, they ain't out there.

    I can help you with modifying most Boeing 727 aircraft modules except radios, radar, and trip computers. Other than the above, I've yet to find anything from a 727 I couldn't make work one way or another.

    There are no panel layouts for the 727. I will measure mine on Sunday and post here with the dimensions. It is a real instrument panel, so you can be sure the dimensions will be 100% accurate. Not almost to scale.

    The cheapest solution for gauges is MSPS and a 17" widescreen monitor for the flight instruments. You'll need a 12.1" widescreen for the engine stacks, but I've yet to find a supplier.

    Welcome to the very small first generation Boeing jet club and welcome to the site.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member hca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    bali
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes hard work for sure!

    thanks for the reply and welcome.

    Yes its hard work, compared to glass, but I guess i prefer clunky switches and dials. even if it is a lot of servos.

    For now, I am trying to collate a shopping list, so far the genuine artifacts have been lot cheaper than the imitation for later models with the exception of flight directors and the like.

    Any pix or detail of your panel would be great, for dimensions and completing a wish list.

    I am considering buying a flight manual, theres a few on ebay but not sure they have the info I really need at this stage.

    Interesting you have a genuine panel, a dealer in the US asked me if was interested in a nose cone, which I assume would include a panel. But to get it home to Bali it would be a container job and i am not quite sure it would fit.

    Naturally I could go broke filling in the gaps.

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello,
    I am building a 727 sim myself as well.I am using real gauges using either servos or synchro's. Here is a link to my site,
    http://www.geocities.com/raflyer/727...?1198601480593

    Any questions, feel free to ask.

    ROb

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member hca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    bali
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Rob,

    Heading over for a look now.

    I found my way by some links to this 727 project, http://www.oncealoft.com/

    Makes me reconsider the nose cone offer verses cost of a container from the US to Bali. I wonder what the local customs would make of it?

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nick is is in the top three of a three person list for Boeing 727 parts.

    Fast shipping, sometimes a little high on a thing or tw, but still cheaper than having aftermarket made. Plus, you get a real part sometimes worth thousands for pennies on the dollar.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    511
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    B727 Parts

    HCA,

    I have some B727 parts for sale; I posted them today. Go to this MyCockpit Thread:

    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/show...ed=1#post63580

    Thanks,

    John

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member hca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    bali
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    servo interfacing

    What are you blokes using to drive your servos and interface them to the sim computer?

    I was planning to do my own thing using some code I developed on microchip pics and run it all on a can bus that terminates on the network.

    Mike I can probably help you along with those radio panels in a while, depending on how you can hook them to your sim pc.


    harry

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Be forewarned, these are mechanical radio heads with the rotating indicator dials for the frequencies. Gables models before digital displays were the norm.

    I'd sure be interested in knowing how to modify them though. I was thinking that the switches use a common ground while all of the switch contact points just emulate the FS key press for up/down frequency change.

    I don't have any servos in my sim. No reason to have any in my 727. There is no auto-anything in the 727 except the AP.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member hca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    bali
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    ok Mike

    I am still waiting on them to arrive from the US. but my intention is to stick to the mechanical heads and just read what ever they are set to the same way the radio unit did. I seem to remember a 2 of 5 code or some thing like that was used on some heads.

    my chip will just read the setting and send it out whenever it changes.



    No servos, how about driving attitude indicators and the like?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Christmas comes early!
    By Kennair in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-01-2008, 08:11 AM
  2. X-mas Came early from Northern Flightsim
    By arwinpoon in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-16-2008, 12:25 AM
  3. Ohh!! Christmas has come early (or late?)
    By phil744 in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 03-07-2008, 07:32 AM
  4. My first build - 737NG. Early days!
    By David Rogers in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-26-2007, 06:05 PM
  5. Re: T/D is too early placed in path.
    By Enrico Schiratti in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-08-2006, 11:01 AM