Thread: New from Canada

Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

New from Canada

i have just joined. I am a novice level FSer although have ben using it on and of for years.
    My biggest problem is in the proper use of the trim. I know I am supposed to use trim so I don't have to hold on tight to the yoke but how much trim do I use. does up make the plane go up or down? Is there a neutral setting on the trim wheel( I don't think there is) so how do you know at a glance how much trim you have aplied?
    Signed Confused.

150+ Forum Groupie

Hi and welcome.

On sophisticated aircraft there are trims for all axes. The one on just about every aircraft and the one to which you are referring is the elevator trim. As you say it controls the 'up and down' of the aircraft.

The elevator trim relieves the pressure you have to apply to the yoke control, to maintain your desired aircraft attitude. So if you're in a climb, you will probably be applying back pressure to the yoke to keep the nose up.

The way trim works in a real aircraft compared with a sim, makes it considerably easier to use and intuitive. In a flight simulator, the elevator trim is perhaps the least realistic of all controls. The reason? Well most flight simulators cannot replicate the control forces on the yoke or joystick that you would experience in flight.

So your question about how much trim to use is one that is more difficult to answer in the context of a flight sim, like you or I may be building. The answer is enough trim so that you don't have to hold the joystick or the yoke to maintain the desired pitch (climb or descent).