Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict ekezz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nieuw Vennep - Netherlands
    Posts
    339
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wires - which type to use?

    When you start wiring switches and LED's what type of wires do you use?
    I presently use UTP cable as I get 8 wires per cable. And I use the full orange for the ground/common pole.

    I think:
    Phidgets calls the negative pole GROUND and is denoted by a G on the circuit board.
    CP Flight MIP board calls the negative pole COMMON

    What cable/wire system do you use?
    What color system do you use?
    Kester Meijer
    http://www.mycockpit.nl - to see my cockpit construction
    Certified De-Ice Supervisor EHAM

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Kester. I am using the same wire (I think) you are using. Here we call it Cat5, it is network wire. The casing helps keep tangle to a minimum. As far as color code goes I real don't use one. I just use an Excel spreadsheet on every circuit. Common and ground in wiring are the same thing. How are you doing on your pit , any new developments?

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict ekezz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nieuw Vennep - Netherlands
    Posts
    339
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Progress on pit

    Yes I am making some progress. Uploaded some new txt and pic's to my website http://fly.ekezz.com

    The long and short is it that I had to replace the chipset coolerfan on my Asus A8N-SLI-Deluxe board.
    And am soldering the leds on the MIP, and worry whether the powerunit can supply enough power.
    And I have installed some Engravity switches (not wired yet) to the makeshift overhead panel.
    Kester Meijer
    http://www.mycockpit.nl - to see my cockpit construction
    Certified De-Ice Supervisor EHAM

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey Kester. Looks good! I was thinking about doing the same thing to "hold me over". I may go a step farther and build enunciator too!

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict ekezz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nieuw Vennep - Netherlands
    Posts
    339
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    how

    And how would you construct the annunciators?
    I'm curious about that.
    Kester Meijer
    http://www.mycockpit.nl - to see my cockpit construction
    Certified De-Ice Supervisor EHAM

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Will look at this and let everyone know what I come up with.

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey Kester. I may have an answer for you in a couple of days! Went and visited a sign maker friend of mine today!
    More to come!

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict ekezz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nieuw Vennep - Netherlands
    Posts
    339
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    cool

    can hardly wait for your findings
    Kester Meijer
    http://www.mycockpit.nl - to see my cockpit construction
    Certified De-Ice Supervisor EHAM

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    peterborough uk
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    power rating,for cable,

    hi guys,when using phidgets you have to supply the switch with a power supply,i was thinking of using 5volts or less from a compuer psu,but do we have to worry about the amount of curent flowing through the circuit,?i seem to remember that jonathan from pm systems metioned this in one of his vids?does cat 5 cable allow any current throughput without heating up or causing a fire,?
    am trying to work out what type of cable to use with some 16/16 cards
    have a good day,
    steve

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey Steve. All (that I am aware of) systems in use at this time are using a small voltage to the switch. All that happens when you trip the switch is you are creating a ground. EPIC works the same way and I am using cat5 no problems.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Connecting multiple wires?
    By smendlik in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-16-2009, 10:43 PM
  2. snapped 2 wires :(
    By Steve A in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-14-2009, 05:56 AM
  3. Wires to use?
    By HondaCop in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-06-2009, 10:06 AM
  4. Cables & wires 0,1mm
    By AchillesP in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2009, 10:11 AM
  5. Connecting multiple ground wires?
    By Shawn in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-27-2008, 02:48 PM