Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Networked Computer

    Hello, I am doing my research before I go and buy anything. Basically the plan is to build a cockpit roughly like a 747 except instead of using physical gauges, I will have 3 monitors to display them. 1 for each pilot and one for center information (being a touchscreen). I will use a projector for all my scenery. The problem we have here now is that there are 4 displays, my 8800GTX only supports two outputs. I have heard that you can use a Triplehead2go and split it up or network a computer to view gauges, which is the cheapest option and where can I get more information on networking computers?

    Are there any free programs for networking gauges?

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member TasKiNG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derby, England
    Posts
    143
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have installed FSUIPC/WinFS on my FS PC and then display my gauges, fms etc on 3 monitors on a networked PC. To get 3 monitors I have an AGP card which gives 2 outputs and have also installed a PCI video card for the 3rd monitor. I am using FreeFD and P8RSoftware free instruments software. Both of these packages remember which monitor and position the gauge was in last time it was run. I still need to build the cockpit to put the monitors in but am concentrating on getting the switch / warning pannels sorted 1st.

    Hope this helped

    Cheers

    Dave

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks mate, I'll do my research on those, for switches, I'm looking at using old joystick buttons for everything I need.

Similar Threads

  1. Using Multiple joysticks on networked Computers
    By ak49er in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-31-2011, 10:11 PM
  2. Loss of a networked machine
    By Tomlin in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-14-2008, 12:19 PM
  3. Cockpit instruments on networked computers
    By Paul G in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-22-2007, 12:11 PM
  4. More networked computers or fewer computers?
    By Suggy in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-10-2006, 09:24 PM
  5. More networked computers or fewer computers?
    By Darren Sugden in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2006, 06:00 PM