Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canvey Island
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Payware aircraft versus FSX default

    I am rather new to PM having had the Boeing GC, MCP and CDU running for only about a month with a few Opencockpits hardware modules. It all runs ok using the FSX default 737 fleet. My question is am I losing anything by using the FSX aircraft model or would I get more realism by buying a payware 737 aircraft such as 737 Pilot in command or others if there are any suitable for FSX.

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member James Twomey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Port Orchard Wa, U.S.
    Posts
    129
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Microsoft FSX

    Hello,

    I would have to say that you are not loosing anything by using the defualt FSX aircraft. In fact, in my opinion, if you buy those other aircraft, you end up having more difficulty in trying to get them to talk to PM software, thereby deflating much of the fun of your sim.

    I use the defualt 737 800 with my PM CDU, GC, FMC, and PM Systems with Phidgets being the controler for the harware interface. All work great together.

    The only things that I can see not getting is all the different skins that might come with the other planes, oh and maybe a different flight dynamics. Now, I'm not sure about the default flight dynamics, but they seem pretty good to me.

    That is how I see my sim.....
    James Twomey

  3. Thanks Pippo thanked for this post
  4. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canvey Island
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks

    Many Thanks James, I appreciate your helpful reply.

  5. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I always heard from real life pilots that the default B737 and others are far from correct what their flight dynamics concerned.
    But the problem for cockpitbuilders, is indeed with payware as PMDG,which has much better dynamics, that they are not easy to interface.
    Nevertheless for the B738 you still can use their airfile. For B744 or MD11 (in futur), this is completely out of the question.
    B. Rgds
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  6. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canvey Island
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Michael, thanks for the information... I take it that if i simply swap the Aircraft.cfg file in FSX for the default 737-800 for the one that is installed with the fs9 PMDG 737 I should get better dynamics, or are there other things I have to alter in the file? I dont think there is a PMDG 737 yet for FSX.
    Sorry if I seem a little unsure, I am not that expert on moving files around in FSX
    Regards Mike (aka "Pippo")

  7. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The .air file contains the aerodynamics and flight characteristics among other things. You'd have to swap this as well if it is possible.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canvey Island
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Many thanks for the info.... I appreciate your help
    Mike

Similar Threads

  1. Default aircraft 737-800 not in list
    By zinok2001 in forum FSX Aircraft Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-29-2011, 12:24 PM
  2. first payware for fsx
    By brian95 in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 11:38 AM
  3. FSX versus X-Plane
    By LUFTY in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 10 (FSX)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-07-2009, 10:15 AM
  4. X-Plane versus FS9 orX
    By aviaparts in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 02-17-2008, 03:27 PM
  5. 0/16/16 versus 8/8/8
    By Gerard in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2005, 04:03 PM